Citing
CITING YOUR SOURCES
You can find the style guide and other resources for APA by visiting the link below.
Librarian
Contact
CONTACT ME
To contact me to set up a one-on-one consultation, please email me at erin.larucci@oneonta.edu
Chat
LIBRARY HELP CHAT
Choosing a Company
Your company must be in the top 100 of the Fortune 500 list. The company you choose must also be a public company. To find out if it is public, there are a few strategies you can use:
- See if the company website has an 'Investor Relations' section - this means it is public
- Look the company up in EDGAR from the Securities & Exchange Commission (SEC)
- Sometimes, a quick Google search can tell you if the company is public
Looking up Ticker Symbol
- A Google search can show a company's ticker symbol
- Yahoo Finance Ticker Symbol Lookup (also provides full name of public companies)
Finding News Articles
The company you choose needs to have been in the news since June 1, 2022. You can find news articles in the following sources, as well as Google News.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowThe Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, international daily newspaper published six days a week. WSJ Digital provides personalized access to all WSJ digital products, including WSJ tablet app, full WSJ.com access, WSJ smartphone app, and a WSJ+ membership for all students, faculty, and staff.
First time access for users requires sign up at: WSJ.com/SUNYOneonta - New York Times Digital This link opens in a new window
All students and faculty have unlimited access to The New York Times digital platforms, including personalized user experience, live coverage of breaking news, access to NYT articles between 1851-current, access to the International edition and Canadian, Chinese, and Spanish editions, full access to the NYT Learning Network, and access to the InEducation resource that helps faculty bring current events into the classroom. This resource includes access to archival content and replaces Historical New York Times and New York Times Archive.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present.
Finding Company Profiles
It is important to try to find company profiles that have been published within the past two years. Tables of contents can help you find specific company information. It is also important to check multiple sources as some will fill in gaps other sources do not cover.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present.
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports.
- NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present.
- Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.