Citing
CITING YOUR SOURCES
You can find the style guide and other resources for APA by visiting the link below.
Librarian
Contact
CONTACT ME
To contact me to set up a one-on-one consultation, please email me at erin.larucci@oneonta.edu
Chat
LIBRARY HELP CHAT
Finding a Topic
A science-focused online news source such as Science Daily can be used to find a topic that interests you. You can also find contemporary news articles using Google News.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
Using the Author-Supplied Keywords or Subjects/Subject Headings can help you refine your search in scholarly databases.
- Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.
- American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new windowAccess to peer-reviewed research journals published by the American Chemical Society. The ACS Journal of Chemical Education is available. Coverage dates vary by journal title.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary loan can be helpful if you are looking for resources the library does not currently own. This is a service free of charge to all SUNY Oneonta students and faculty. Digital documents, such as PDFs, can be delivered in as little as a couple of hours whereas physical items, such as books, can take anywhere from a couple of days to a couple of weeks, depending on availability. It is a good idea not to wait until the last minute to do your research in case you need to use ILL.
- Interlibrary LoanILL Login - Use your SUCO User ID and password
BOOLEAN OPERATORS
Boolean operators are words or symbols that are used in conjunction with words to refine searches.
Here are six helpful ones to use:
- AND - narrows
- Ex: ADHD and boys (this narrows down our results to only include ADHD and boys)
- NOT - excludes
- Ex: ADHD not boys (this narrows down our results to include things about ADHD excluding those that mention boys)
- OR - expands
- Ex: boys or males or guy (this expands our our search to search for multiple possible terms)
- * - expands
- Ex: rac* (using the asterisk in replace of an ending on a word will expand your search to include results that have any ending on the base word.)
- " " - exact phrase
- Ex: "executive functioning" (this pulls up results that are stated in the item exactly as written)
- ( ) - confine
- Ex: (ADHD or attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder) AND (boys or guys or males) - (this will instruct the database or search engine on what parts go together in your search phrase