Citing
CITING YOUR SOURCES
You can find the style guide and other resources for APA by visiting the link below.
Librarian
Contact
CONTACT ME
To contact me to set up a one-on-one consultation, please email me at erin.larucci@oneonta.edu
Chat
LIBRARY HELP CHAT
Looking up Ticker Symbol
- A Google search can show a company's ticker symbol
- Yahoo Finance Ticker Symbol Lookup (also provides full name of public companies)
- EDGAR can be used to find ticker symbols and company filings from the SEC
Finding Company Financials
EDGAR can be used to find filings with the SEC. In these filings, check the table of contents to locate specific information. You can also 'ctrl-f' to locate specific phrases, for instance 'Corporate Social Responsibility' - it should locate the statement for you in the report.
Check the company website for 'Investor Relations' or 'Investors' sections.
Financial reports can also be found in some company profiles. Check multiple sources to fill in gaps.
Finding News Articles
The company you choose needs to have been in the news since December 1, 2021. You can find news articles in the following sources, as well as Google News.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal is an American business-focused, international daily newspaper published six days a week. WSJ Digital provides personalized access to all WSJ digital products, including WSJ tablet app, full WSJ.com access, WSJ smartphone app, and a WSJ+ membership for all students, faculty, and staff.
First time access for users requires sign up at: WSJ.com/SUNYOneonta
Finding Company Profiles
It is important to try to find company profiles that have been published within the past two years. Tables of contents can help you find specific company information. It is also important to check multiple sources as some will fill in gaps other sources do not cover.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present.
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and comprehensive reports.
- NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowOffers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present.
- Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.