Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WLIT 231: Mythology: Home

Welcome!

Welcome! This guide will help you find resources to complete your assignment for your class. In the larger column on the left, you will see a selection of resources that will be helpful for your research. It is not an exhaustive list, but it will help you get started. On the smaller right column, you will see helpful information like how to contact librarians, and how to remote check out a book. If you need any assistance with finding resources for your paper, please feel free to contact me - Sarah Rhodes. 

Tip: 

  • When doing research on a popular deity in a database, try using the word OR between different spellings of their name in one of the search boxes. By using the boolean operator OR, you are widening out your search parameters. See the box on the right hand side labeled "Boolean Operators" to learn more. 
    • EX: Gluskap OR Glooscap OR Glooskap 

Databases

Here are a few databases that will contain helpful information for your research. eHRAF World Cultures is a bit different in it's searching functions, but contains a wealth of information about particular cultures. Salem Literature is a database that contains Reference resources (like encyclopedias and dictionaries). It contains a lot of great resources on myths - including access to the text Critical Survey of Mythology and Folklore: World Mythology.

Outside Library Resources

Search & Discover

Search & Discover provides sweeping access to books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more through a user-driven platform supporting your research interests. You can use Search & Discover without signing in. However, to access e-books, you will need to sign in when prompted.

There are two main ways to use Search & Discover.

Everything allows you to search simultaneously for books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more. You may use keywords, titles, authors, or phrases. Refine your results using the choices on the left. For example, if you want to discover the newest results then select Sort by. Explore Resource Type, also on the left, to get a sense of the various materials available to you.

Library Catalog is commonly used to search the physical collections of the James M. Milne Library, including ebooks, by an author’s name or a book’s title. You may also use keywords to search the library catalog, which contains the table of contents for many records. Subject headings are included in keyword searching and are assigned to all library catalog holdings.

While Everything and Library Catalog are two of the main searching functions in Search & Discover, there are others available for use. Child Collection, Course Reserves, EMC Media, NY State Collection, Reference, Special Collections (SCC), SUNY Catalog, and Young Adult (YA) are all options to choose from. These collections can be searched exclusively by selecting them in the top menu. For example, selecting Child Collection will include results only from that collection. 

Books

eBooks

Help

Librarians are available to help in several ways: 

  • Call the Reference Desk at 607-436-2722
  • E-mail a question to a librarian and receive a response 
  • Request a Research Consultation to meet individually (and virtually) with a librarian
  • Chat with a Librarian using the Chat Box below

Boolean Operators

Boolean operators are words or symbols that are used in conjunction with words to refine searches. 

Here are six helpful ones to use: 

  1. AND - narrows 
    1. Ex: ADHD and boys (this narrows down our results to only include ADHD and boys) 
  2. NOT - excludes
    1. Ex: ADHD not boys (this narrows down our results to include things about ADHD excluding those that mention boys) 
  3. OR - expands
    1. Ex: boys or males or guy (this expands our our search to search for multiple possible terms) 
  4. * - expands 
    1. Ex: rac*  (using the asterisk in replace of an ending on a word will expand your search to include results that have any ending on the base word.)
  5. " " - exact phrase
    1. Ex: "executive functioning" (this pulls up results that are stated in the item exactly as written) 
  6. ( ) - confine
    1. Ex: (ADHD or attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder) AND (boys or guys or males)     - (this will instruct the database or search engine on what parts go together in your search phrase

How to Find a Book in the Library Catalog

How to Check Out a Book

Interlibrary Loan

The ILLiad system enables current SUNY Oneonta students, faculty, and staff to obtain academic and intellectual materials from other libraries. Your ILLiad account will allow you to:

  • -- borrow items from other libraries
  • -- make online requests for periodical articles from other libraries
  • -- review the status of your requests
  • -- check due dates of outstanding loans
  • -- ask for renewals
  • -- and much more.
Except where otherwise noted, SUNY Oneonta Library Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) 4.0 International License. Not sure how to cite us? Try these best practices.