Skip to main content

POLS 200: Approaches to Political Science: Home

Dr. Wilkerson Milne Library, SUNY College at Oneonta, Spring 2014

Selected Political Science Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook          REF JA66.A21 2011

Encyclopedia of the American Left                                               REF HX86.E58 1998

Encyclopedia of American Political History                                REF E183.E48 2001

Encyclopedia of Political Communication                                  REF JA85.E64 2008

The Encyclopedia of Political Science                                         REF JA61.E513 2011

International Encyclopedia of Political Science                         REF JA61.I58 2011

The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History      REF E183.P85 2010 

The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science                            REF JA61.B43 1999

A Dictionary of Modern Politics                                                     REF JA61.R63 2002

The Palgrave Dictionary of Political Thought                            REF JA61.S37 2007

Finding Books

Databases containing Scholarly Articles: Political Science Specific Resources

Academic OneFile

Databases containing Book Reviews

Finding Quality Web Pages

To insure that you find the best and most authoritative information on the web, follow these suggestions:

 1.  Limit searches to .gov and .edu:

         To do this add site: gov or site: edu to any web search.

 

2.  Use only key words and place phrases inside " ":

         "social classes"

          television and "class structure"

3.  Use the advanced search feature of search engines, such as Google Advanced Search where you can limit the domain to .edu or .gov, limit key words to appear to the title of the page and use phrases.

 

Michelle.Hendley@oneonta.edu

Revised January 2014