Skip to main content

Milne Library Digitization Grant: .

Project Description

Milne Librarians Nancy Cannon and Andy Perry, in collaboration with Ray LaFever and Tim Duerden of the Delaware County Historical Association (DCHA) as well as Robert Brzozowski and Deb Bruce of the Greater Oneonta Historical Society (GOHS), received a grant from the South Central Regional Library Council for a project entitled, “Collaborative Digitization Pilot Project: SUNY Oneonta, the Delaware County Historical Association, and the Greater Oneonta Historical Society”. The grant for $8,490 was awarded under the Regional Bibliographic Database digitization program. It enabled the digitization of unique and important historical materials. These primary sources possess both regional and statewide significance. The digitized collections are available online via the New York Heritage website (http://www.nyheritage.org). 

Delaware County Historical Association Collection:

At the completion of the project a total of 767 items were transcribed and added to the New York Heritage website from the DCHA Sherwood Collection and Farrington Photograph Collection. The Sherwood Collection is mainly comprised of letters to and from Samuel Sherwood (1779-1862), his second wife Laura Bostwick Sherwood (1790-1863), and members of their family.  From 1813-1815 Sherwood served one term as a Federalist in the U.S. House of Representatives.  Samuel Sherwood practiced law in Delhi New York from 1800 to 1830, when he moved to New York City. In addition to personal letters, the collection includes legal documents, business letters, and part of Laura Sherwood's travel diary kept during a trip through upstate New York in 1823.  In addition, 73 photographs from the Farrington Photograph Collection (dating from the early to mid 20th century) were added to the New York Heritage website. These photographs come from the Farrington family of Delhi, New York. Maurice Farrington (1837-1914) was a Delhi, NY business man and photographer. His son Frank (1872-1955) ran Farrington’s Drug Store in Delhi and later became the author of several publications and numerous articles related to business practices. Some of the photographs in the collection may have been taken by Maurice, particularly the glass plate negatives, but the bulk likely were created after Maurice’s death in 1914. The images include a number of street views and houses in Delhi, New York. Also included are a number of images of the Frank Farrington home on Elm Street, with pictures of his family.

Greater Oneonta Historical Society:  Papers of Jessie Jenks, 1901-1902 Oneonta City Directory:

At the completion of the project a total of 738 items were transcribed and added to the New York Heritage website from the Greater Oneonta Historical Society.  The Jenks family papers include letters written to Willard S. Jenks and his wife, Rhoda, from their daughter, Jessie Elvira Jenks. In addition to the letters and three journals Jessie kept, the collection includes teaching contracts, report cards, recommendations, resumes, newspaper clippings, and stacks of letters from 1892 to 1894 and 1930.  In addition to 24 letters, two Jessie Jenks diaries were added to the New York Heritage website: a 112-page diary from 1885-1888 and a 119-page diary from 1889. The Jenks collection is of interest as Jessie began writing at age 12 as a home-schooled Oneonta farm girl and she continues writing as she travels to Boston to attend the New England Conservatory.  The project also included digitizing and transcribing the 1901-1902 Hayne's Oneonta Directory.

In the News

The diary of Jessie Jenks, part of the collaborative Milne Library/GOHS/DCHA SCRLC digitization grant, was featured on the New York Heritage blog to recognize National Handwriting Day, 

In addition, the posting includes a link to this letter from the Sherwood Collection, in which Laura Sherwood encourages her son John to work at his penmanship while attending Yale College.

Highlights from the DCHA collection:

Highlights from the GOHS collection: