Other Selected Electronic Reference Sources
CQ Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically, the Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes for permanent reference the full year in Congress and in national politics.
Search for titles in Sage Knowledge. Comprehensive coverage of Congressional action from 1945 to 2008. Includes tables, charts, and graphs.
CQ Guide to U.S. Elections (6th edition)
Search for title in Sage Knowledge. Comprehensive coverage of every major aspect of federal and gubernatorial elections throughout U.S. history. Narratives describe the evolution of U.S. elections, the development of the party system, and campaign finance.
CQ Guide to U.S. Elections (7th edition)
The CQ Press Guide to U.S. Elections, Seventh Edition is a comprehensive, two-volume reference providing information on the U.S. electoral process, in-depth analysis on specific political eras and issues, and everything in between.
Finding Scholarly Print and Electronic Books in Milne Library
To search for books in Milne Library, click on the Search tab on the library’s home page. Then select Advanced Search. Then click on Sign in and login using your SUNY Oneonta username and password. Once signed in, select Library Catalog and change Material Type from All items to Books. Enter search terms and click on SEARCH.
You can limit your search results to Available online (e-books) or Held by Library (print books). Library staff will retrieve physical books from the collection for students.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
Political Science Databases
- Political Science CompleteProvides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles. Also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers.
General Databases with Political Science Scholarly Journal Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full-text of several scholarly journals including 196 political science titles and 39 public policy and administration titles. The objective of JSTOR is to provide all issues back to Volume 1, Issue 1 for all journals. (Due to copyright restrictions, the most recent 3-5 years are unavailable.)
- Military & Government CollectionCurrent news pertaining to all branches. Provides full-text for about 300 journals and other periodicals.
- Project MuseFull text of over 100 scholarly journals and books from university presses in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics.
Can be used for course content: Includes books from many university presses and scholarly journals - Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)This full-text resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Content Includes: Full-text articles from 360 journals Full-text content dating as far back as 1972 High-quality indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed.
Other Resources
- Hein Online This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is a premier online database containing more than 150 million pages and 160,000 titles of legal history and government documents in a fully searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in historical research by providing comprehensive coverage from inception of more than 2,400 law-related periodicals. In addition to its vast collection of law journals, HeinOnline contains the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
Can be used for course content: Law review articles and much more; permanent links.
Finding a Copy of an Article from a Database
Locating the full text of the article in electronic form
Full text articles available directly in databases are indicated by HTML Full Text or PDF Full Text. Full text articles available with the wording Linked Full Text are available in another database. Clicking on the link will connect either to the full text article or the other database.
Requesting an article on interlibrary loan
If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article using the library’s interlibrary loan service. See a librarian for help.
Finding an Article in a Specific Journal
- Use the Journals tab on the library home page.
- Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Journal of Political Science, in the search box.
- Look for the journal title in the results list.
- Online journals are available through the link, Available Online. If the journal is in print, its availability and location in the library will be indicated.
- To obtain an online copy of an article, click on the Available Online link and go to the section, Full text availability, and click on an appropriate database.
- Link to the correct issue of the periodical (note the year, issue, volume number, and page numbers of the article).
Finding Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals
Go to the library’s web page. Enter the following in the search box under SEARCH EVERYTHING: the title of the book (place the title in quotation marks), the search term “review,” and connect the title and “review” with the Boolean operator “and.”
For example: “Congressional Primary Elections” and review
Go to the left-hand side of the screen and limit search to peer-reviewed Journals. Then click on APPLY FILTERS.
Evaluating Information Sources
Teaching in the Age of Alternative Facts
Milne Library’s guide to spotting fake news, evaluating resources, and fact-checking.
Georgetown University: Evaluating Internet Resources
Georgetown University Library’s guide to evaluating Internet resources.
Evaluate Internet Sources: The CRAAP Test
Video on evaluating Internet sources using the CRAAP test: Currency, Relevance Authority, Accuracy and Purpose. From the University of Texas at El Paso.
Is this source of information good?
A list of the evaluation criteria of the CRAAP test. From Meriam Library, California State University, Chico.
Revised September 1, 2020