It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PHIL 107: Philosophies of Art: Home
How to Use this Guide
The content of this course guide is meant to accompany PHIL 107, Philosophies of Art, taught by Dr. Achim Koeddermann. A worksheet, found on your right, accompanies the guide. Each of the numbered boxes (Step 1, 2, 3) below correspond to resources you will need to complete the worksheet and, in some cases, additional resources will be provided to help you with your research.
Help with your research, citation, and other library services is available at the bottom of the guide.
An excellent resource for authoritative background information on a wide array of philosophical topics. Fully searchable, the REP is also divided into four sections: Topics, Periods, Regions, and Religions. Encyclopedia identify potential sources through bibliographies, which are often annotated.
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
Provides indexing and author-written abstracts for about 680 scholarly international philosophy journals. Also offers coverage of anthologies and book reviews. Includes journals from about 50 countries with content representing a variety of languages. Coverage is from 1940 to the present. Links to some full-text.
Librarians are available to help in several ways:
Call the Reference Desk at 607-436-2722
E-mail a question to a librarian and receive a response
Search Everything is the default search on the library's homepage. Using it to search for books can be overwhelming because it provides far more than we often need. Select Advanced Search for the Library Catalog, which allows you to search the physical collections library, including ebooks, by an author’s name or a book’s title. You may also use keywords to search the library catalog, which contains the table of contents for many records. Subject headings are included in keyword searching and are assigned to all library catalog holdings.
Created to encourage the creation and distribution of ebooks, Project Gutenberg contains over 60,000 free titles.
It is important to include appropriate citation in your paper. The library has a guide that can help you accurately cite your resources. You can locate it on the library homepage by clicking the "Citing Sources" link, or you can click on the link below.