Finding Scholarly Books
Selected Series Titles
Recent researches in the music
of the Baroque Era volumes 1 to 147 OVERSIZE M 2 .R238
“The many volumes in this series together represent all of the principal genres and compositional styles of the period 1600–1750.”
Other important collected works are located in the Oversize Room on the third floor of the library. Search for collected works in the Library Catalog and limit your search to the document type score.
Library Catalog
Find print books, print journals, most e-books and e-journals are not included.
WorldCat
Comprehensive database of books, journals, and media owned by libraries world-wide. Requires sign-on from off-campus.
Finding Scholarly Journal Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- Fine Arts Collection This link opens in a new windowContains over 100 full-text magazines and journals in areas such as drama, music, art history, and film making. Provided by the New York State Library.
- Humanities SourceIncludes both Humanities Full Text and Humanities International. Contains over 1400 full text journals with citations to over 3,500,000 articles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text of about 1400 core scholarly journals across most subject areas. The objective of JSTOR is to provide all issues back to Volume 1, Issue 1. Although some current titles are included, the most recent 3-5 years are generally unavailable due to copyright restrictions.
- Music IndexContains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Coverage is from about 1970.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowPeriodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content in 37 key subject areas.
- Project MuseFull text of over 100 scholarly journals in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- Project MUSE - Single Title SubscriptionsOver 100 full text e-journals in several disciplines.
Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article
Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:
If there is no PDF or HTML full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on Full Text Finder. If the full text of the article is available in another database, there will usually be a link to that database where the article can be found by linking to the appropriate volume and issue number, or by searching for the article by its specific title. In some databases, the article will appear without additional searching.
If the article is not available, return to the home page of the library and click on Journals. Enter the journal title in the search box, and click on the search icon. Click on Full Text Access to see if an online or print copy of the article is available. Oneonta Local links to information about locally held items. On the record for the journal title, click Is it here? The record will list the years and volumes of the journal held in Milne Library. The record will also indicate whether the issue is in print or microfilm.
Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room, (SB floor), two floors beneath the main floor of the library.
Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:
If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed or through the link on the bottom of the homepage of the library website. See a librarian for help.
Finding an Article in a Particular Periodical Title:
- Use the Journals tab on the top of the library home page.
- Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Early Music, in the search box.
- Look for the journal title in the results list.
- Click on an appropriate database.
- Link to the correct issue of the periodical (note the year, issue and volume number of the article).
- If an electronic text is available, click on the link provided. If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, click on the specific library holdings and locate the title in the library.
January 17, 2019
michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu