Skip to main content

MCOM 350: Seminar is Mass Communication (Spring 2014): MCOM 350

Search Everything (EBSCO Discovery Service)

Search Everything searches across the library's catalog and many of its databases in a single search. This is the default search box (Search Everything) on the library home page.

Because the results are so broad, learn to refine your results by using the toggle boxes on the left of the results screen. You can narrow a search in the following ways (among others):

  • Scholarly (Peer Reviewed)
  • Publication Date
  • Type of source
    • Academic Journals
    • Trade Publications
    • Magazines
    • News
    • Books
  • Subject
  • Location (print within the library, electronic, etc.)
  • Source (database in which the item appears)

For a complex or advanced search it is more effective to use a subject-specific database, such as Communication and Mass Media Complete.

Periodicals Defined

  • Periodicals are publications issued at regular intervals (daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly) such as newspapers, magazines, and journals.

  • Many periodicals are originally published in print form (available at newsstands and through subscription). The library subscribes to databases that offer an electronic version of the text of selected articles from many periodicals.

  • Use periodicals for current information, for latest trends and research, for hard to find information, and for briefer coverage than books.

  • See the tab above "Types of Periodicals" - to determine if a periodical is scholarly or "peer-reviewed," as opposed to being a popular magazine or a trade publication.

  • To see a list of communication and mass media-related periodicals available online, use the "Journals" tab near the top of the library home page. Click on the yellow and red magnifying glass, then select the "Subjects" tab from the next screen. Select "Communication and Journalism." from the drop-down box under "Select Subject to View." Pick the appropriate sub-category and browse the journal titles.

Finding Mass Circulation & Industry Periodical Articles

All of the following databases can be found under the "Databases" tab on the library home page. For best results use the Advanced Search features of any database.

Selected Indexes to Articles in Popular Periodicals and Trade Journals

Finding Scholarly Periodical Articles in General Databases

Look for a check box on the search screen or the results screen to limit a search to Peer-Reviewed, Academic, or Scholarly articles.

Finding Scholarly Periodical Articles in Subject-Specific Databases

Look for a check box on the search screen or the results screen to limit a search to Peer-Reviewed, Academic, or Scholarly articles.

Finding an Article from a Citation

If you have the citation for a periodical article

  • use the Journals tab on the top of the library home page
  • type in the title of the journal or magazine
  • look for that title in the list and follow the link to the database(s)
  • follow the links to the correct issue of the periodical OR
  • locate a "search" box to type in the title of the article
  • If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, this will be indicated as well. Follow the link(s) to see what years the library subscribes to.

Finding Books