Welcome!
Welcome! This guide will serve as a helpful resource to complete your assignments for LITR 306. If you need additional help, you can contact me directly using the Email Me link located under my picture on the right hand side of this guide, or you can contact a librarian using any of the methods indicated in the box labeled "Contact a Librarian" also placed on the right hand side of this guide. If you would like to learn a little bit more about me, please feel free to watch the box with my introductory video located on the right hand side.
Locating Children's Books Online
There are many places to locate Children's Books Online. Many publishers will have channels on YouTube where authors or other people read a story. Many times they share the pictures on the screen as well. Below you will find a list of places to find picture books online. Some are video formatted (where you watch someone read the story), while others are scanned copies of the books that you can then flip through to see each page without audio narration. This list is not meant to be exhaustive, but to be a place to get you started finding popular and historical titles.
- Baldwin Library of Historical Children's LiteratureA collection of digitized children's books from throughout history.
- Children's Book Selections from the Library of CongressA collection of digitized children's books from the 1700's - 1999.
- International Children's Digital LibraryA collection of stories in various languages. Click on the "Read Books" link in the left side navigation to browse through the different collections.
- Kid Lit TvA collection of "Read Out Louds" will highlight different books being read our loud by the author(s). It will show close ups of the pictures in the picture book. Features more contemporary titles.
- Little Brown Readers - Storytime with BillA small collection of children's books where you can see the pictures in the books.
- Open LibraryOpen Library contains a collection of books, ranging from classics to more contemporary titles. You will need to create a free account, before you can digitally borrow a title.
- Project GutenbergA collection of digitized children's books, mostly historic, with classics like The Tale of Peter Rabbit or The Wizard of Oz.
- RivetedA collection of YA books. You need to create a free account to access the titles. Books can be downloaded or read through your browser. Titles usually have a limited availability for free reading.
- Storyline OnlineA collection of contemporary children's books read out loud by famous actors/actresses such as Betty White, Rashida Jones, Elijah Wood, and more.
Finding Articles Online
Even though you may be remote, many of the resources available to you through Milne Library are available online. We have access to multiple databases that will be helpful for finding supporting sources for your assignment. Below is a list of databases that, while not exhaustive, will help you get started with your research.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) This link opens in a new windowCLCD Enterprise PreK-12 database provides access to academic and research resources focusing on Pre K-12 books and media of all types, including reviews from respected publications. Content includes over one million of fiction/non-fiction titles, thousands of awards and quality reviews including author/title links, lesson plans and teaching guides. The search engine offers multiple options including 50 search filters to find materials for determining interest & reading levels; selecting trade books based on standards; creating thematic, annotated biographies; interpreting reviews; developing classroom collections and more.
- Contemporary Authors This link opens in a new windowGuide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, drama, and other fields. Provides complete biographical and bibliographical references.
- Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)Contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, and about 250,000 author biographies. Covers about 460 literary journals. Also includes book reviews, poems, short stories, more than and more than 8,000 classic texts.
- Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes both Contemporary Literary Criticism and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowCross-platform search for literature resources, including coverage of authors, literary works and movements, book reviews, and more. Includes Gale Literature Resource Center, Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors, and Gale Literature: LitFinder.
Finding eBooks in the Library's Collection
While the library is currently not offering remote checkout to students, we do still have eBooks that might be helpful for your assignment. Watch the video below to learn how to access eBooks in the Milne Library Catalog. The video is part of the library's Pandemic Library Coffee Hour series hosted on the library's instagram account (@milne.oneonta), which is why it has a fun little intro bit.
Interlibrary Loan
The ILLiad system enables current SUNY Oneonta students, faculty, and staff to obtain academic and intellectual materials from other libraries. Your ILLiad account will allow you to:
- -- borrow items from other libraries
- -- make online requests for periodical articles from other libraries
- -- review the status of your requests
- -- check due dates of outstanding loans
- -- ask for renewals
- -- and much more.
*The library is currently allowing students to request digital items only through ILLiad. No physical items are being processed at this time.*
Librarian
Hello!
Contact a Librarian
Librarians are available to help in several ways:
- Call the Reference Desk at 607-436-2722
- E-mail a question to a librarian and receive a response
- Request a Research Consultation to meet individually (and virtually) with a librarian
- Chat with a Librarian using the Chat Box below
Citation
It is important to include appropriate citation in your paper. The library has a guide that can help you accurately cite your resources. You can locate it on the library homepage by clicking the "Citing Sources" link, or you can click on the link below.