Skip to main content

LITR 150: Introduction to Literary Studies: Home

Course Information

LITR 150: Introduction to Literary Studies  (Spring 2014)   http://libguides.oneonta.edu/litr150spring2014  

Professor Dan Payne; Librarian Kay Benjamin, kay.benjamin@oneonta.edu

Finding Books

Books can be found using library catalogs. Milne Library's "classic catalog" includes both print and links to the full text of electronic books.

Finding Periodical Articles Using General Databases

All of the following databases are listed on the library website in the alphabetical list under Databases. Browse by discipline to determine which databases are the most appropriate for finding information about your topic or use the library bibliography/course guide for LITR 150.

Finding Periodical Articles Using Literature-Based Databases

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on or Find It!. If a full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link connecting you to that database, where you can locate the article in the appropriate volume, or search for the article by title or author.

If the article is unavailable electronically, but available in print or microfilm, click on Oneonta Local Collection for exact holdings. Periodicals are located on compact shelving or in microfilm drawers on the floor P.

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library in any form after you have linked to "Check Library Catalog", you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed (see computer screen that comes up after you click on Find It!). You need to be registered to submit ILL requests. See a librarian for help. You can also request articles through the Interlibrary Loan  link on the library website.

Finding an Article from a Citation

If you have the citation for a periodical article

  •        use the Journals tab on the top of the library home page
  •         type in the title of the journal or magazine
  •         look for that title in the list and follow the link to the database(s)
  •         follow the links to the correct issue of the periodical OR
  •         locate a "search" box to type in the title of the article
  •         If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, this will be indicated as well. Follow the link(s) to see what years the library
            subscribes to.

Using Search Everything EBSCO/EDS

Search Everything (EBSCO Discovery Services/EDS)

This is the default search box on the library home page. The EBSCO Discovery Service points researches to appropriate databases and is not a substitute for searching these databases.  EDS does not search the database but “scratches the surface” of selected library databases to produce a single list of results, including print books, ebooks, scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, research reports, documentary films, and much more.  

NOTE:  Because results include Open Source titles and encyclopedia articles, not all materials are appropriate for college research assignments. 

 Refining or Narrowing the Results:

The results from a search can be very large.  Use the limiters on the left side of the page to refine and narrow your results.  The most useful limiters are listed below:

 Subject:

Click on Show More to see a list of all subjects.  You can select multiple subjects.  Subjects at the top represent the largest number of results.  Subjects at the bottom will give the fewest results.  The list can be alphabetized by clicking on Name.  Update results. 

Location:

Use to limit to results print or electronic items owned by Milne Library, among other types of sources.  Update results.

Source:

Click on Show More for a selected list of databases in which results were found.  Searching the individual databases improves search results because more refined searching can be done.  Update results.

Research Help

Librarians are available to help you in several ways:

  • Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library, located on your left after you enter the first floor through the main entrance or through Jazzman's Cafe.
  • Call the Research Help Desk at Milne Library at 436-2722. If the librarian is busy, you can leave a message on voice mail.
  • E-mail a question to a Milne librarian & get a response within 48 hours.
  • Request a research consultation to meet individually with a librarian.