Reference sources provide an overview or summary of your topic and are ideal to be used when starting a research. Reference sources include encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. Some useful titles are listed by language below. You can find more on the library website.
Online Reference Sources only @ Oneonta
-
Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowProvides reference sources in almost all disciplines. Also includes historical timelines, multimedia, selected magazine articles, notable quotations, and a dictionary and thesaurus.
-
Britannica Escolar This link opens in a new windowProvides elementary and middle school level resources in Spanish.
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new windowEmbedded in Literature Resource Center. Most volumes also available in print in the Milne Library reference collection. Online access begins with volume 369.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowExplore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research. A collection of full text electronic reference books covering many subject areas. Can be searched by keyword, source, subject, image caption, full text, and audience. Individual books can be combined for cross-title searching.
-
Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)Contains full text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticisms, and about 250,000 author biographies. Covers about 460 literary journals. Also includes book reviews, poems, short stories, more than and more than 8,000 classic texts.
-
Oxford English DictionaryA guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and present from across the English-speaking world.
Selected Print Reference Sources
-
A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics by Call Number: REF P29 .C65 1985ISBN: 0631140816Publication Date: 1985-08-01 -
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information by Call Number: REF P87.5 .E53 2002ISBN: 0028653866Publication Date: 2001-09-21 -
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Call Number: REF P29 .I58 2003ISBN: 9780195139778Publication Date: 2003-05-01 -
Key Concepts in Language and Linguistics by Call Number: REF P29 .T687 1999ISBN: 0415157420Publication Date: 1998-11-24 -
The Linguistics Encyclopedia by Call Number: REF P29 .L52 2004ISBN: 0415222109Publication Date: 2004-04-08 -
Longman Dictionary of Language Teaching and Applied Linguistics by Call Number: REF P129 .R53 2010ISBN: 9781408204603Publication Date: 2010-07-01 -
The World's Major Languages by Call Number: REF P371 .W6 2009ISBN: 9780415353397Publication Date: 2009-01-15
-
American Express International Traveler's Pocket Dictionaries and Phrase Books by Call Number: REF PC4121 .A55 1983ISBN: 0671470280Publication Date: 1984-03-01
-
The American Heritage Spanish Dictionary by Call Number: REF PC4640 .A47 2001ISBN: 0618127704Publication Date: 2001-09-07 -
Diccionario de la Lengua Espanola by Call Number: REF PC4625 .A3 1992ISBN: 8423943992Publication Date: 1992 -
Diccionario Escolar de la Real Academia Espanola by Call Number: REF PC4625 .D5335 1997ISBN: 8423994201Publication Date: 1997 -
Latin American Dramatists by Call Number: REF PQ7082.D7 L373 2005ISBN: 0787668427Publication Date: 2004-10-22 -
Modern Spanish American Poets by Call Number: REF PQ7082.P7 M53 2003bISBN: 0787668273Publication Date: 2003-11-21 -
The Oxford Spanish Dictionary by Call Number: REF PC4640 .O94 2008ISBN: 9780199547357Publication Date: 2011-11-01 -
Sixteenth-Century Spanish Writers by Call Number: REF PQ6064 .S59 2006ISBN: 0787681369Publication Date: 2005-08-26 -
Twentieth-Century Spanish Fiction Writers by Call Number: REF PQ6144 .T94 2006ISBN: 0787681407Publication Date: 2005-12-09 -
The University of Chicago Spanish Dictionary, Spanish-English, English-Spanish by Call Number: REF PC4640 .U5 2002ISBN: 0226666883Publication Date: 2002-09-01
-
The Cambridge French-English Thesaurus by Call Number: REF PC2591 .L24 1998ISBN: 0521425816Publication Date: 1997-12-11 -
Dictionary of Literary Biography by Call Number: REF PQ261 .W75 2005ISBN: 0787681318Publication Date: 2005-04-29 -
Francophone Studies by Call Number: REF DC33.7 .F723 2002ISBN: 0340806966Publication Date: 2003-01-23 -
Harrap's New College French and English Dictionary by Call Number: REF PC2640 .H32 1978ISBN: 9780844218595Publication Date: 1978
-
-
Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary by Call Number: REF PC2640 .O83 2007ISBN: 9780198614227Publication Date: 2007-07-23 -
Sixteenth-Century French Writers by Call Number: REF PQ231 .S59 2006ISBN: 0787681458Publication Date: 2006-09-08 -
Twentieth-Century French Dramatists by Call Number: REF PQ556 .T94 2006ISBN: 0787681393Publication Date: 2005-10-21
-
Arabic Literary Culture, 500-925 by Call Number: REF PJ7521 .A73 2005ISBN: 0787681296Publication Date: 2005-04-22 -
Arab Women Writers by Call Number: REF PJ7525.2 .D4313 2008ISBN: 9789774161469Publication Date: 2008-11-01 -
Origins of Mathematical Words by Call Number: REF QA41.3 .L6 2013ISBN: 9781421410982Publication Date: 2013-09-10 -
Oxford Arabic Dictionary by Call Number: REF PJ6640 .O94 2014ISBN: 9780199580330Publication Date: 2014-08-28
-
Cassell's Latin Dictionary by Call Number: REF PA2365.E5 C3 1977ISBN: 0025225707Publication Date: 1977-10-01
-
A Dictionary of Latin Words and Phrases by Call Number: REF PA2365.E5 M67 1998ISBN: 0198602294Publication Date: 1998-06-25 -
The New College Latin and English Dictionary by Call Number: REF PA2365.E5 T7 1966bISBN: 0877205612Publication Date: 1966
-
The American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary by Call Number: REF HV2475 .T46 2010ISBN: 9781563684449Publication Date: 2010-07-31
