Skip to main content

HIST 100: Western Civilization (Spring 2014): HIST 100

Course Information

HIST 100: Western Civilization  (Spring 2014)   URL: http://libguides.oneonta.edu/hist100frieryspring2014  

Professor Mike Friery; Librarian Kay Benjamin, 607-436-2998, kay.benjamin@oneonta.edu

Finding Background Information

Encyclopedias, almanacs, and handbooks provide quick, reliable information about a topic.  They are excellent starting points for research when you need to find background information, important concepts, names and dates.  These sources often include lists of books and articles for further reading.

Encylopedias on Specific Areas/Time Periods/Subjects

The Age of Wars of Religion (2 vols.)

Ref D 114 N66 2006

Atlas of Ancient and Classical Geography

Ref G 1033 A8 1952

Atlas of Exploration

Ref G 1036 S12 G4 2008

Atlas of Medieval Jewish History

Ref G 1034 B413 1992

Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization

Ref DE 5 C28 2006

Cambridge World History of Food

Ref TX 353 C255 2000

Cambridge World History of Human Disease

Ref R131 C233 1993

Chronology of World History v.1 Prehistory - AD 1491

Ref D 11 M39 1999

Classical Tradition

Ref DE 60 C55 2010

Complete Atlas of World History (3 vols.)

Ref G 1030 C66 1997

The Crusades: An Encyclopedia (4 vols.)

Ref D 155 C78 2005

Daily Life Through History (series title)

Online under Databases tab

Dictionary of Battles & Sieges

Ref D 25 J33 2007

Dictionary of Women Worldwide

Ref CT 3202 D53 2007

Dictionary of the Middle Ages (12 vols. & Suppl.)

Ref D 114 D5 1982

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (4 vols.)

Ref BH 456 E53 1998

Encyclopedia of African History

Ref DT 20 E53 2005

Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientists: The Greek Tradition

Ref Q 124.95 E53 2008

Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350-2000

Ref HN 373 E63 2001

Encyclopedia of Islam & the Muslim World

Ref BP 40 E524 2004

Encyclopedia of Religion (15 vols.)

Ref BL 31 E46 2005

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

Ref D 114 E53 1999

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation

Ref CB 359 B47 2004

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures

Ref HQ 1170 E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World

Ref HQ1127 S25 2001

Gale Virtual Library (online subject encyclopedias)

Online under Databases tab

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Global Medieval Life and Culture

Ref CB 351 G 743 2009

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture

Ref N 5610 G76 2007

Medieval France

New Encyclopedia of Africa v. 2

Ref DC 33.2 M44 1995

Ref DT 2 N48 2008

Oxford Companion to Military History

Ref D 25 A2 O94 2003

Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium (3 vols.)

Ref DF 521 O93 1991

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt   (3 vols.)

Ref DT 58 O94 2001

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (10 vols.)

Ref B 51 R68 1998

also Online under Databases tab

Science & Its Times

Ref Q 175.46 2000

Women in the Middle Ages

Ref HQ 1143 W643 2004

World Eras (series title) 

 

     Ancient Egypt 

Ref DT 61 A55 2002

     Classical Greek Civilization, 800-323 B.C.E.

Ref DF 77 W67 2001

     European Renaissance & Reformation, 1350-1660

Ref CB 359 W67 2001

     Medieval Europe 

Ref D 102 M38 2002

     Rise and Spread of Islam, 622-1500

Ref DS 36.85 W67 2002

     Roman Republic & Empire, 264 B.C.E. - 476 C.E.

Ref DG 77 W726 2001

Finding Books

Search Everything, the Classic Catalog, WorldCat, and Google Books all search for books but in different ways. These different tools are interconnected. A search in Google Books will lead you to books in WorldCat and to the Milne Library Classic Catalog. A search the Classic Catalog can lead you to a book in Google Books. A search in WorldCat will find books in many libraries, including Milne Library.

Search Everything

This is the default search on the library home page. Because this searches the library catalog as well as periodical databases, you can use it to find print and electronic books. Enter your search terms. From the results screen click on the link "Books" on the left of the screen under the "Type."

Classic Catalog 

Search the contents of Milne Library here at the SUNY Oneonta campus. Use this if you need to find a book that you can use immediately.

  • You can search by author, title, subject, and keyword (words anywhere).
  • Note the call number for the item and consult Library Floor Plans to determine the location of the item.
  • For more information about any item, click on the title in the results list.
  • To check a something out, take the item(s) to the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor across from the main front doors, and present your Oneonta ID.

WorldCat

Search well over a billion items, including books in Milne Library AND books from thousands of other libraries. On the library home page, use the WorldCat tab at the top.

Google Books

Google has digitized thousands of books which can be read in part or in total here. The advantage of using Google Books is that it searches the entire contents of the book, unlike the Milne Library Catalog and WorldCat which only search the title, author, and subject headings.

  •  To get a copy of the book, follow the link Find a Library which will connect you to WorldCat to see if Milne has the book.
  • If we do not have it, use the Request via Interlibrary Loan link in WorldCat to have our library borrow a copy for you.

General Databases that include History-Related Articles

Finding Periodical Articles

All of the following databases are linked from the library home page under Databases tab at the top of the page. Each of the following databases indexes articles from periodicals in various subject areas.

History-Specific Databases

Finding an Article from a Citation

If you have the citation for a periodical article (article title, journal title, date, pages, etc.) follow these steps:

  •        use the Journals tab on the top of the library home page
  •         type in the title of the journal or magazine
  •         look for that title in the list and follow the link to the database(s)
  •         follow the links to the correct issue of the periodical OR
  •         locate a "search" box to type in the title of the article
  •         If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, this will be indicated as well. Follow the link(s) to see what years the library
            subscribes to.

Finding Web Resources

To insure that you find the best and most authoritative information on the web, follow these suggestions:

   1.  Limit searches to .gov and .edu:

To do this add site:gov or site: edu to any web search

liberty "martin luther" site:edu

  2.  Use only key words and place phrases inside " ":

"knights templar" crusades

"roman rule" britain

Wikipedia

Although it is not appropriate to use Wikipedia articles as scholarly sources to use in your works cited, these articles can be excellent starting places for an introduction to a topic. In addition, the references and externals links at the end of the articles can be mined for articles, books, and web pages which you can use as sources.