Skip to main content

GEOL 394: Global Change through Deep Time: .

Course Information

Professor Leigh Fall, Librarian Nancy Cannon (Nancy.Cannon@oneonta.edu)

This guide is located under "Course Guides" on the left side of the Milne Library home page.

Annotated Bibliographies

Where to Find Images for Presentations

Google Images: Advanced Search  Can be limited to a certain domain.  See Domain name registries around the world  for a listing of codes.

Hint: OneNote, part of Microsoft Office, has a snip and paste feature that is very easy to use. It is even possible to snip from screenshots by typing the Windows key and S simultaneously.  If you are using the newest version of OneNote you need to click on the  icon to snip.   OneNote uses OCR (optical character recognition)  to extract searchable text from images such as JPEGs and PDFs.

Library Research: Overview

  • Identify your research topic. Test the topic by searching a few databases or the "Search Everything" option on the Milne Library home page. You may need to broaden or narrow your search. Research Starters, available for the most popular topics in "Search Everything", provide short, citable summaries and authoritative overviews.
  • Background information on a topic can often be found in encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference sources. Reference sources provide background information on a topic, clarify definitions, and often include bibliographies at the end of an article. There are encyclopedias in the reference area on the first floor of Milne Library that cover most topics. 
  • Find books. Books often treat a topic more comprehensively than journal articles. Books can be a good place to find an overview of a topic. References to additional articles and books can often be found in a bibliography at the end of a chapter.
  • Find articles.  Since journal articles are often more focused than books, they may provide more specific information than books. References to additional articles and books can often be found in a bibliography at the end of an article. Information in journal articles is usually more current than information in books.
  • Find supplementary materials such as internet sites. Since articles found on the internet have rarely gone through the peer-review process, they must be carefully evaluated. 
  • Organize the findings.
  • Use the information to address the research topic, integrating the information you've found into a reasoned argument or presentation. Make sure you cite your sources in the appropriate format.

Where to Find Journal and Magazine Articles

The databases below are all located under the "Databases" tab on the Milne Library home page. The library has subscriptions to many periodicals, including journals, magazines, and newspapers. Periodicals often provide the most up-to-date and specific information on a topic. For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines and newspapers. Peer-review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is the Journal of Structural Geology. An example of a popular magazine is National Geographic Scholarly Journal Articles vs. Popular Magazine Articles

Need More Help?

E-mail a question to a Milne librarian & get a response within 48 hours Monday through Friday.

Schedule a research consultation with a librarian to discuss your research project in depth.

Call the Research Help Desk at Milne Library at 607-436-2722.

Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library.