Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDUC 246: Development of Language and Adolescent Literacies (Mikoda): Home

Welcome!

Welcome! This guide will help you conduct research for your assignments in EDU 246. 

Types of Publications

Many organizations print multiple publications online and in print. They typically vary between newsletters, magazines, trade publications, and journals. Each type of publication serves a specific purpose.

Newsletters usually contain specific organizational news and information. They do not tend to be scholarly.

Magazines are intended for general readership. They may contain useful and interesting pieces of information, but they are not typically subjected to a rigorous peer-reviewed process.

Trade Publications contain practical, hands-on articles written mostly by practitioners in the field. Some may be peer-reviewed and some may not.

Journals are more scholarly than other forms of publications. If they undergo a peer-review process, they are at the top of the list for credible, reliable, and evidence-based research articles.

Peer-Review (or refereed) is a process where a group of experts in the field review submissions for things such as credibility, accuracy, and reliability. The peer-review process helps to ensure that the article contains valid information.  

Locating Journals and Articles

Locating Journals:

To locate articles from particular journals, you need to first identify if the library has access to them or not. To do this, you first need to go to the library homepage. You will then click on the “Journals” tab. Enter the name of the publication you are seeking in the search box. You should see the title in your results list. Underneath the item’s name, there should be a list of results. These will either be links to databases, the organization’s website, an interlibrary loan request, or link to the catalog information.

The library has access to articles in different ways. Some journals are only available in print, while others have access online. After each link name, you will see a date range. This indicates what years the library has access to. Many publishers place a full text delay (or embargo) for online access.

There are some journals that the library does not have access to. You can request particular articles through interlibrary loan. Your log-in information for ILLiad is your Oneonta username and password. The first time you log in, you will be asked to fill out a form. Make sure you change the delivery location to Circulation Desk. It will default to NYSHA Library in Cooperstown. Requesting articles through ILLiad is free for you as a student. However, it is not instantaneous. The typical time frame is about 24 hours, but if you request over the weekend, it will take longer. Also, some articles are easier to acquire than others and can be processed faster.

Before you try ILLiad, you may also want to try Google Scholar. Click on the “Databases” tab on the library homepage, and then click on the letter G. Click on the Google Scholar link. If you access Google Scholar through the library’s website, you have access to more articles. Searching Google Scholar is most effective when you already have a specific article that you are looking for. You can find articles by browsing the table of contents in journals.

Find an Article:

Now that you have located the journal, you need to find an article. There are two ways to find articles, by browsing the table of contents or by searching within.

The searching within function only works if you are accessing the journal through a library database. Then you can enter keywords and limit your results by particular years.

Browsing by the table of contents is a way to find articles regardless of how you are accessing the publication. 

General Research Information

When conducting general research (outside of this project) in the field of Education, there are a few “go-to” databases. They are: 

Peer-Review

What does peer-reviewed mean in context to journal articles? Peer-review is a process that many scholarly journals undertake to evaluate the quality of the material being submitted. When an article is submitted to be published in a peer-reviewed journal, several impartial reviewers (who are experts in the subject matter) assess for accuracy, and the validity of the research methodology and procedure. 

Sometimes an organization will include information about the peer-reviewed nature of their publications in the descriptions on their website. Other times it is not available. To determine whether or not an item is peer-reviewed, you can search for it a database called Ulrich’s.

To access Ulrich’s, you need to go to the library homepage. You will then click on the databases tab and the letter U. Scroll down to the bottom of the list, where you should find ulrichsweb.com. Click on the link. You can then search by title to find out whether or not the title is peer-reviewed. You can also click on the link below to gain direct access to Ulrich's. 

Association Publications

To find the publications of your national association, you first need to visit that association's website. Once there, you should be able to find information about what they publish under headings such as "publications" or "research" or "resources". You should then be able to use the information you learned in class to determine if it is peer-reviewed, and if the library has access to it. If you are unsure, you can use the cheat sheet located below. 

Citation

It is important to include appropriate citation in your paper. The library has a guide that can help you accurately cite your resources. You can locate it on the library homepage by clicking the "Citing Sources" link, or you can click on the link below. 

Help

Librarians are available to help in several ways: 

  • Visit the Reference Desk in Milne Library
  • Call the Reference Desk at 607-436-2722
  • E-mail a question to a librarian and receive a response within 48 hours
  • Request a Research Consultation to meet individually with a librarian