Skip to main content

COMP 390: Capstone - The Art of Biography: COMP 390

Dr Daniel Payne; Librarian Michelle Hendley, Selected Sources for Research, Milne Library, SUNY Oneonta, Spring 2014

Research Help

Librarians are available to help you in several ways:

  • Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library, located on your left after you enter the first floor through the main entrance or through Jazzman's Cafe.
  • Call the Research Help Desk at Milne Library at 436-2722. If the librarian is busy, you can leave a message on voice mail.
  • E-mail a question to a Milne librarian & get a response within 48 hours.
  • Request a research consultation to meet individually with a librarian. 

Selected Print Reference Works

African American Writers                                                                           REF PS 153.N5 A344 2001

American Women Writers:

  A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present    REF PS 147 A4

American Writers                                                                                       REF PS 129 A56

Black Literature Criticism                                                                         REF PS 153.N5 B556

British Writers                                                                                              REF PR 85 B688

Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers                            REF PS 153.N5 E49

Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ                                                REF PS 153 S39 E53 2009

  Literature of the United States

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature           REF PS 153.A84 G74 2009

Latina and Latino Voices in Literature                                                   REF PS 153 H56 D3

Latino and Latina Writers                                                                         REF PS 153 H56 L39 

Mystery and Suspense Writers                                                                REF PR 830 D4 M97 1998

Science Fiction Writers                                                                             REF PS 374 S35 S36 1982

Twentieth-Century Western Writers                                                        REF PS 271 T84 1991

Selected Online Reference Works

Selected Biography Databases

Finding Books in Milne Library

WorldCat is an online database listing materials in U.S. libraries and selected libraries throughout the world. Holdings are indicated for Milne Library, and the Stevens-German Library at Hartwick College. To get the call number and availability status for the book in Milne Library, click on Search the Catalog at your Library.  You can search by author, title, subject, and keyword. If Milne Library does not own an item, you can request items to be borrowed from other libraries by following the Request via Interlibrary Loan link provided on the record for an item in WorldCat. Locate WorldCat (First Search) in the alphabetical list under the Databases tab on the library website.

 

You can check out items at Hartwick College with your SUNY Oneonta ID card. 

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on 360 Link to Full Text or Find It!. If a full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link connecting you to that database, where you can locate the article in the appropriate volume, or search for the article by title or author.

If the article is unavailable electronically, but available in print or microfilm, click on Oneonta Local Collection for exact holdings. Periodicals are located on compact shelving or in microfilm drawers on the floor P.

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library in any form after you have linked to "Check Library Catalog", you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed (see computer screen that comes up after you click on Find It!). You need to be registered to submit ILL requests. See a librarian for help. You can also request articles through the Interlibrary Loan link on the library website.

Finding an Article from a Citation:

If you have the citation for a periodical article, click on the Journals tab on the library website and enter the title of the journal or magazine. The resulting list will indicate which database(s) include the periodical. Follow the databases, then either follow the links to the specific issue of the periodical, or enter the title article in a search box. If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, the holdings will be indicated by linking to Oneonta Local Collection.

Finding Periodical Articles

All of the following databases are linked from the library home page under Databases.

Contact Information

Revised by, Michelle Hendley  (michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu)

February 2014