Skip to main content

COMP 100: Composition (Spring 2014): COMP 100 - Fiske

Course Information

COMP 100: Compostion  (Spring 2014)   URL: http://libguides.oneonta.edu/comp100fiske2014

Professor Nancy Fiske; Librarian Kay Benjamin, 607-436-2998, kay.benjamin@oneonta.edu

Search Everything (EDS)

Search Everything!

This is default search on the library home page. This will search across many library's databases and the library catalog, finding both books and periodical articles. The results from a search will be very large; use the limiters on the left side of the page to refine and narrow your results. The most useful of the limiters are listed below:

Type: Subject:  Geography: Location:  Source:
Select to narrow the results to only "Academic Journals" or "Magazines" or "Books." Click on "Show More" to see a list of all the subject categories. You can select multiple subjects. Subjects at the top represent the largest number of results. Subjects at the bottom will give the fewest results. Useful if you wish to restrict your results to a certain country or region of the world. If you are looking for books you can limit to print or electronic owned by Milne Library. Click on "Show More" for a complete list of every database in which results were found.

This is a good starting place for research, but you will want to use the databases (for articles) and catalogs (for books) listed below for more in-depth and precise searching.

Finding Books

Books can be found using library catalogs. Milne Library's "classic catalog" includes both print and links to the full text of electronic books.

Periodical Articles

Periodicals are publications that come out on a regular, or periodic, basis. Examples include newspapers, magazines, and journals. Scholarly, or peer-reviewed, periodicals are appropriate for more serious research, while magazines, or popular, periodicals are intended for entertainment or information for general audiences. See this Types of Periodicals guide to understand all the differences.

The library subscribes to over a hundred databases originally published in print periodicals. The content in the databases is not, for the most part, free on the web. The library pays for access to these databases. 

Use the Browse by Discipline list (under the Databases tab on the home page) to find the best databases for your topic.

Finding Periodical Articles Using General Databases

All of the following databases are linked from the library home page under Databases. Note that most (not all) of the database content is also found using the EDS (Search Everything) search.

Some databases are not directly indexed in Search Everything or are not complete. For instance, the New York Times is only available from 1985 to the present in Search Everything.

To take advantage of the richest features of a database, including the subject thesaurus or specialized limiters, you may choose to search a specific subject relevant database. 

Finding Periodical Articles Using Subject-Specific Databases

All of the following databases are linked from the library home page under Databases.

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on Linked Full Text. If a full text of the article is available in another database, there will usually be a link to that database where the article can be found by linking to the appropriate volumen and issue number, or by searching for the article by its specific title. 

If the article is not available, return to the home page of the library and click on Journals. Enter the journal title in the search box, then click on Exact Match. You can then determine if an online or print copy of the article is available. Oneonta Local links to informaiton about locally held items. On the record for the journal title, click Is it here? The record will list the years and volunes of the journal held in Milne Library. The record will also indicate whether the issue is in print or microfilm.

Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room (SB floor), two floor beneat the main floor of the library.

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article through the link Request via Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed or through the link on the bottom of the home page of the library website. See a librarian for help.

Finding an Article from a Citation

If you have the citation for a periodical article

  •        use the Journals tab on the top of the library home page
  •         type in the title of the journal or magazine
  •         look for that title in the list and follow the link to the database(s)
  •         follow the links to the correct issue of the periodical OR
  •         locate a "search" box to type in the title of the article
  •         If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, this will be indicated as well. Follow the link(s) to see what years the library
            subscribes to.

Finding Good Quality Web Sites

The web is not the best place to do academic research. Google or Bing should never be the only place you look for information for a college paper or project. However, the web can be a good place to orient yourself to the nature and extent of a topic.

If you are allowed to include web pages as sources, use the following tips to insure that you find the best and most authoritative information on the web:  

1.  Limit searches to .gov and .edu, which tend to offer more legitimate and reliable information: To do this add site:gov or site: edu to any web search. e.g. "animal testing" site:gov  

2.  Use only key words and place phrases inside " ": "women of color" and "media representation"  

3.  Use the asterisk * to find various forms of a word - truncation: "helicopter parent*" (finds parent, parents, parenting, parenthood, etc.)abused child* (finds child, child's, children, childhood, etc.)  

Plagiarism

When you use information from a book, article, or web site, don't forget to cite it in proper fashion!  Even ideas must be cited. When paraphrasing be sure to use your own language, but still include a citation.

Avoiding Plagiarism

Turnitin.com is often used at the College at Oneonta to detect plagiarism.