Skip to main content

COMP 100: Finding Articles

Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals

For academic research, it is often important to use peer reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines.  Peer-review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field.  An example of a peer-reviewed journal is Ecotoxicology.  An example of a popular magazine is National Geographic.   

All of the following databases are listed on the library web site alphabetically by title under the tab Databases.  Databases that cover specific subjects can be found by looking at Browse by Discipline under the Databases tab.

Databases Covering Many Subjects

Databases Covering Specific Subjects

Finding Copies of Periodical Articles

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on Full Text Finder.  If the full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link that connects to that database, in which the article can be found. If the article does not appear, follow the directions under Finding an Article in a Particular Periodical Title.

Locating the article in print or microfilm, if not available in electronic form:

Link to OneontaLocal, and then click on Is it here?  Note available issues and location.  Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room in the library sub-basement (SB floor).  Help is available by calling the number on the telephone in the Microfilm Room.

 Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library in any form, you can request the article through the link Request through Interlibrary Loan. You need to be registered to submit requests. You can also request articles through the Interlibrary Loan link on the library web site under the Student/Faculty Services tab. 

Finding an Article in a Particular Periodical Title

  • Use the Journals tab at the top of the library home page.
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Past and Present, in the search box and click on the magnifying glass icon.  The title of the periodical, if available, will appear the top of the results list. Click on the title of the periodical.
  • If the title is available in other databases, Full Text Access will link to databases that include the full text of the title.  Check dates of coverage to determine if full text for the needed article is available. Click on the Database title and search for the needed volume and issue number of the periodical OR enter the title of the article in the search box to obtain the full text.
  • If the title is available in print or microfilm, the link OneontaLocal will lead to information about the specific issues available in Milne Library. Click on Is it here? Note specific library holdings, and locate the title in the library. Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room in the library sub-basement (SB floor). Help is available by calling the number on the telephone in the Microfilm Room. 

Need help?

E-mail a question to a Milne librarian & get a response within 48 hours Monday through Friday.

Schedule a research consultation with a librarian to discuss your research project in depth.

Call the Research Help Desk at Milne Library at 607-436-2722.

Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library.