Research Help
Librarians are available to help you in several ways:
· Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library located on your left after you enter the library through the main entrance or through Jazzman’s Café.
· Call the Research Help Desk at Milne Library at 607-436-2722. If the librarian is busy, you can leave a message on voicemail.
· Email a question (http://www.oneonta.edu/library/reference/ask.asp ) to a Milne Librarian and get a response within 48 hours.
· Request a research consultation (http:www.oneonta.library/research/researchconsultation.aspx) to meet individually with a librarian.
Finding Books
Finding Periodical Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
General Databases:
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowProvides over 54,000,000 articles, most full-text, from about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text of over 1400 core scholarly journals and Books across most subject areas.
Can be used for course content: Titles from many university presses and other academic publishers - Project MuseFull text of over 100 scholarly journals and books from university presses in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics.
Can be used for course content: Includes books from many university presses and scholarly journals
Communications Databases
- Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, and linguistics.
Finding Information on Issues
- CQ Researcher (1923-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries of the issues. Full text. Five simultaneous users.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextContains about 2000 viewpoint articles, 1000 topic overviews, 700 court case overviews, and 30 full text periodicals and newspapers. The Research Guide provides tips on analyzing issues with opposing viewpoints, distinguishing fact from opinion, evaluating information sources, and recognizing deceptive arguments.
- Points of View Reference CenterContains full-text essays representing multiple sides of about 250 topics; in addition, the database includes political magazines, radio and television news transcripts, primary source documents, and reference books. Designed to provide a series of controversial essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Essays provide questions and materials for further thought and study and are accompanied by thousands of supporting articles from the world's top political and societal publications.
Finding Newspaper Articles
- New York Times This link opens in a new windowAll students and faculty have unlimited access to The New York Times digital platforms, including personalized user experience, live coverage of breaking news, access to NYT articles between 1851-current, access to the International edition and Canadian, Chinese, and Spanish editions, full access to the NYT Learning Network, and access to the InEducation resource that helps faculty bring current events into the classroom. This resource includes access to archival content and replaces Historical New York Times and New York Times Archive.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowOffers more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 across all content types.
Contact Information
Lyndsie Robinson, Librarian
lyndsie.robinson@oneonta.edu