Collection Development Policy
James M. Milne Library
The mission of the James M. Milne Library is to provide quality information resources, services, and expertise, both within and beyond the library’s walls, and to create an inviting and stimulating intellectual center for teaching, learning, and research at SUNY Oneonta.
The collections of the James M. Milne Library directly support the educational and scholarly programs of SUNY Oneonta through the selection and maintenance of library materials in a range of formats for students, faculty, and staff. SUNY Oneonta is a public, liberal arts and sciences college with a pre-professional focus. The College enrolls approximately 6,500 students in a wide variety of bachelor’s degree programs and a number of graduate certificates and degrees. The library will be a force for change in ensuring that students acquire the skills necessary for lifelong learning. The library will continue to provide quality services and collections and to offer an inviting and comfortable space for intellectual exchange and cultural enrichment.
Collection development at the James M. Milne Library is a collaborative effort between liaisons and departmental faculty. Liaisons are librarians with responsibilities for selecting materials for the collections. Liaisons work with representatives from each academic department on the Library Committee in guiding the development and growth of the library. Participation in resource development by academic department faculty is essential, because teaching faculty are subject specialists with the academic credentials and curricular expertise to inform collections decisions. Collaboration between librarians and faculty members is required if the library is to fulfill its role in support of the academic program curriculum.
Reviewed by Librarian Liaisons February 18, 2021
Reviewed by Library Advisory Council March 30, 2021
Reviewed by Library Committee April 19, 2021
Approved by Darren Chase, Library Director Spring 2021
Revised by Collection Development Team January 5, 2022
Reviewed by Librarian Liaisons and approved by Darren Chase, Library Director January 14, 2022
Revised by Collection Development Team February 2, 2022
Reviewed by Librarian Liaisons and approved by Darren Chase, Library Director February 10, 2022
Revised by Collection Development Team and approved by Darren Chase, Library Director, March 8, 2022