Skip to main content

CGP Orientation: Home

Welcome

Welcome! This guide will help you locate resources that will be helpful during your research project. If you need help locating resources, please use the ask a librarian feature. 

Locating Print Sources at Milne Library

Search & Discover provides sweeping access to books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more through a user-driven platform supporting your research interests. You can use Search & Discover without signing in. However, to access e-books, you will need to sign in when prompted.

There are two main ways to use Search & Discover.

Everything allows you to search simultaneously for books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more. You may use keywords, titles, authors, or phrases. Refine your results using the choices on the left. For example, if you want to discover the newest results then select Sort by. Explore Resource Type, also on the left, to get a sense of the various materials available to you.

Library Catalog is commonly used to search the physical collections of the James M. Milne Library, including ebooks, by an author’s name or a book’s title. You may also use keywords to search the library catalog, which contains the table of contents for many records. Subject headings are included in keyword searching and are assigned to all library catalog holdings.

While Everything and Library Catalog are two of the main searching functions in Search & Discover, there are others available for use. Child Collection, Course Reserves, EMC Media, NY State Collection, Reference, Special Collections (SCC), SUNY Catalog, and Young Adult (YA) are all options to choose from. These collections can be searched exclusively by selecting them in the top menu. For example, selecting Child Collection will include results only from that collection. 

Below you will find a few select resources that may be useful for your project from our print selection. 

Locating Print Sources Outside Milne Library

While Milne Library has an extensive collection of resources, you may need to search outside of the library to conduct further research. 

To search for items that other libraries own, you need to search Worldcat. Worldcat is an online catalog of material held by other libraries and research institutions around the world. 

Access to Worldcat is through our databases. Click on the databases tab on the library's homepage. Click on the "W" in the alphabetical letters and then select WorldCat. 

If the item is currently owned by Milne Library, it will indicate that in the full record for the item. 

Suggested Websites for Primary Sources

Databases at Milne Library

Milne Library provides access to many useful databases for your research needs. To access the databases, please click on the "Databases" tab on the library's homepage. 

If you know the name of the specific database, you can search for it through the alphabetical letters or the "Browse All" link. If you are looking for a subject specific database, click on the "browse by discipline" link and search for the most relevant subject. You can also click on the "Cooperstown Graduate Program" link when browsing by discipline to find a selected list of helpful databases for your studies. 

Below you will find a list of suggested databases. These databases contain a mix of primary and secondary sources. 

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) is a resource that will serve multiple purposes for your research. Through ILLiad, you will be able to: 

  • request books from Milne Library's circulating collection
  • request items from outside Milne Library's collection
  • check the status of your requests
  • renew (if allowed) items that you have borrowed through ILLiad

Items that CAN be requested through ILLiad:

  • Articles that Milne Library owns/has access to
  • Articles that Milne Library DOES NOT own/has access to
  • Physical Items (i.e., books) Milne Library owns

Items that are requested through New York State Historical Association Library

  • Physical returnable items (i.e., books, microfilm, etc.) Milne Library DOES NOT own

Special Collections Research

To conduct research or to receive assistance with the Special Collections/Archives at Milne Library, please contact Librarian Heather Beach: Heather.Beach@oneonta.edu

Help

Librarians are available to help in several ways: 

  • Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library
  • Call the Research Help Desk at 607-436-2722
  • E-mail a question to a librarian and receive a response within 48 hours
  • Request a Research Consultation to meet individually with a librarian

Science Databases at Milne Library

Below you will find a list of Science databases. These are a great place to get started. If you are not having any luck using these resources, then click "browse by discipline" under the database tab on the library homepage. Pick the most relevant subject to your needs and try some of those databases.