Skip to main content

SOCL 101: Introduction to Sociology (Leung): Home

How To Start

When you begin a research project, it is a good idea to take a moment to reflect on your prior knowledge of the topic area. How much do you already know about this topic? How confident are you in moving forward with this topic? In most cases, you will need to do a bit of research to get some general information on your topic. 

A great way to gather background information is through searching reference materials. Reference materials such as Encyclopedias and Dictionaries are arranged alphabetically and contain a general overview of a term or subject matter. 

The library has access to encyclopedias and dictionaries in print and online through particular databases.

Finding Articles

If you would like to access online resources, you can do that through the library’s databases. Click on the Databases tab on the library homepage. You can then browse alphabetically for a specific database or browse by discipline (subject matter) for a list of databases that fit the criteria.

When browsing by discipline, consider your topic’s subject matter. Does it relate to sports or education? Is it science based or have a sociological impact? For your topic related to the subject of disability, you will see a list of databases below that may be helpful. Keep in mind your subtopics. Is it education related? It is medical related? Read the summary below each database name to see which ones will serve your needs the best. 

Locating Print Sources at Milne Library

Search & Discover provides sweeping access to books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more through a user-driven platform supporting your research interests. You can use Search & Discover without signing in. However, to access e-books, you will need to sign in when prompted.

There are two main ways to use Search & Discover.

Everything allows you to search simultaneously for books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more. You may use keywords, titles, authors, or phrases. Refine your results using the choices on the left. For example, if you want to discover the newest results then select Sort by. Explore Resource Type, also on the left, to get a sense of the various materials available to you.

Library Catalog is commonly used to search the physical collections of the James M. Milne Library, including ebooks, by an author’s name or a book’s title. You may also use keywords to search the library catalog, which contains the table of contents for many records. Subject headings are included in keyword searching and are assigned to all library catalog holdings.

While Everything and Library Catalog are two of the main searching functions in Search & Discover, there are others available for use. Child Collection, Course Reserves, EMC Media, NY State Collection, Reference, Special Collections (SCC), SUNY Catalog, and Young Adult (YA) are all options to choose from. These collections can be searched exclusively by selecting them in the top menu. For example, selecting Child Collection will include results only from that collection. 

***You can also check out items at Hartwick College with your SUNY Oneonta ID card.***

Help

Librarians are available to help in several ways: 

  • Visit the Reference Desk in Milne Library
  • Call the Reference Desk at 607-436-2722
  • E-mail a question to a librarian and receive a response within 48 hours
  • Request a Research Consultation to meet individually with a librarian

Citation

It is important to include appropriate citation in your paper. The library has a guide that can help you accurately cite your resources. You can locate it on the library homepage by clicking the "Citing Sources" link, or you can click on the link below. 

Peer-Reviewed

What does peer-reviewed mean in context to journal articles? Peer-review is a process that many scholarly journals undertake to evaluate the quality of the material being submitted. When an article is submitted to be published in a peer-reviewed journal, several impartial reviewers (who are experts in the subject matter) assess for accuracy, and the validity of the research methodology and procedure. 

Interlibrary Loan

The ILLiad system enables current SUNY Oneonta students, faculty, and staff to obtain academic and intellectual materials from other libraries. Your ILLiad account will allow you to:

  • -- borrow items from other libraries
  • -- make online requests for periodical articles from other libraries
  • -- review the status of your requests
  • -- check due dates of outstanding loans
  • -- ask for renewals
  • -- and much more.

Citation Chasing

"Citation Chasing" is a term used to describe finding resources and materials by looking at the citations in one book or article. There are different wants to discover if the library has access to that particular item. 

  • If the item is a journal, you can search for the title of the journal by clicking on the Journals tab on the library homepage. Type in the title and then hit search. If the library has access to it, you will see a list of database(s) where you can view it. Check dates to find the particular volume and issue number you are looking for.
  • Type the title of the article into the Search Everything search box on the library homepage.