Skip to main content

PROF 120: College Learning Strategies (Webster): Home

Welcome!

Hello all! This guide contains some helpful links to resources to use for your research paper. It contains links to good websites and instructions on how to find materials from the library on careers. It also contains information on how to receive help from a librarian if you are in need of assistance. Please feel free to also reach out to me at Sarah.rhodes@oneonta.edu 

Career Websites

Career Library Resources

You can also access some career materials from the library. On the library homepage, click on the Advanced Search Link under the Search box. Once there, make sure the online access button is marked and type career in the first search box. Change the drop down menu for material type to book. Then hit search. You should see several different career oriented books. You can scroll through this list or add another keyword to the second search box to try and narrow your search results down. I've included a screenshot of the search below. 

Screen shot of search results for career

Help

Librarians are available to help in several ways: 

  • Call the Reference Desk at 607-436-2722
  • E-mail a question to a librarian and receive a response 
  • Request a Research Consultation to meet individually (and virtually) with a librarian
  • Chat with a Librarian using the Chat Box below

Locating Print Sources at Milne Library

Search & Discover provides sweeping access to books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more through a user-driven platform supporting your research interests. You can use Search & Discover without signing in. However, to access e-books, you will need to sign in when prompted.

There are two main ways to use Search & Discover.

Everything allows you to search simultaneously for books, ebooks, articles, movies, music, and more. You may use keywords, titles, authors, or phrases. Refine your results using the choices on the left. For example, if you want to discover the newest results then select Sort by. Explore Resource Type, also on the left, to get a sense of the various materials available to you.

Library Catalog is commonly used to search the physical collections of the James M. Milne Library, including ebooks, by an author’s name or a book’s title. You may also use keywords to search the library catalog, which contains the table of contents for many records. Subject headings are included in keyword searching and are assigned to all library catalog holdings.

While Everything and Library Catalog are two of the main searching functions in Search & Discover, there are others available for use. Child Collection, Course Reserves, EMC Media, NY State Collection, Reference, Special Collections (SCC), SUNY Catalog, and Young Adult (YA) are all options to choose from. These collections can be searched exclusively by selecting them in the top menu. For example, selecting Child Collection will include results only from that collection.