Skip to main content

FAMS 340: Family Policy (Rombo): Course Guide

Librarian: Michelle Hendley

Finding Books and Book Chapters

Library Catalog

Search for books in the Milne Library Catalog.

“Search Everything”/Ebsco Discovery System (EDS)

This is the default search box on the library home page.  It searches across the library's catalog and many of its databases in a single search. Because the results are so broad, learn to refine your results by using the toggle boxes on the left of the results screen. To narrow a search to books only, go to Location and check the appropriate boxes.

WorldCat

Comprehensive database of books, journals, and media owned by libraries world-wide. 

Finding Scholarly Articles

Women Studies Abstracts    REF HQ1101 .W6

Includes abstracts to scholarly articles on a range of topics including Family, Family Planning and Interpersonal Relations.  Note: this is a print resource located in the first floor reference collection. 

Finding Law Review Articles

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form

If there is no PDF or HTML full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on Linked Full Text, if available.  This link will either take you directly to the full text of the article or another database or website.  See a librarian for help.  

Finding an article in a specific periodical title

  • Use the Journals tab on the top of the library home page.
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Journal of Family Studies, in the search box.
  • Look for the journal title in the results list.
  • Click on an appropriate database.
  • Link to the correct issue of the periodical (note the year, issue and volume number of the article).

If an electronic text is available, click on the link provided.  If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, click on the link Print Journals in Milne Library to check for the periodical’s location and availability.

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed or through the link on the bottom of the homepage of the library website. See a librarian for help.

 

michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu

Revised: February 22, 2018