Skip to main content

Pols 200: Approaches to Political Science (Wilkerson): Course Guide

Librarian: Michelle Hendley

Selected Print Political Science Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook REF JA66 A21 2011
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science REF JA61 B43 1999
Culture Wars in America REF HM1121 C85 2014
Dictionary of Modern Politics REF JA61 R63 2002
Encyclopedia of American Political History REF E183 E48 2001
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections REF JK2261 S218 2006
Encyclopedia of the American Left REF HX86 E58 1998
Encyclopedia of Political Communication REF JA85 E64 2008
The Encyclopedia of Political Science REF JA61 E513 2011
Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms REF E176.1 R6 2004
Encyclopedia of Public Administration & Public Policy REF JK9 E526 2004
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Presidency REF JK517 E53 2013
Encyclopedia of the United States Congress REF JK1021 D48 2007
Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the United States REF HD1694 A5 E265 2011
Governing America: Major Decisions of Federal, State, and Local Governments from 1789 to the Present REF JK468 P64 Q55 2010
Guide to U.S. Foreign Policy REF E183.7 C7 2012
Guide to Political Campaigns in America REF JK2265 G84 2005
International Encyclopedia of Political Communication  REF JA85 I575 2016
International Encyclopedia of Political Science REF JA61 I58 2011
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Political and Legal History REF JK9 O94 2012
Palgrave Dictionary of Political Thought REF JA61 S37 2007
Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History REF E183 P85 2010
Social Issues in America REF HN 57 S624 2006
Women in American Politics: History and Milestones REF HQ1236.5 U6 W43 2012

Selected Electronic Political Science Encyclopedias*

Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought

Encyclopedia of Civil Liberties in America

Encyclopedia of Drug Policy

Encyclopedia of Global Studies

Encyclopedia of Governance

Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics

Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics

Encyclopedia of United States National Security

Historical Encyclopedia of U.S. Presidential Use of Force

Political Encyclopedia of U.S. States and Regions

Princeton Encyclopedia of Islamic Political Thought

*Available by typing the title of encyclopedia into “Search Everything.” 

Other Selected Electronic Reference Sources

Finding Scholarly Books

Library Catalog

Use the Library Catalog to search for books in Milne Library.

“Search Everthing”

The Search Everything tool searches across the library's catalog and many of its databases in a single search. Because the results are so broad, learn to refine your results by using the toggle boxes on the left of the results screen. To narrow a search to books only, go to Location and check the appropriate box or boxes.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Political Science Resources

General Databases with Political Science Resources

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form

If there is no PDF or HTML full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on Linked Full Text, if available.  This link will either take you directly to the full text of the article or another database or website.  See a librarian for help.  

Finding an article in a specific periodical title

  • Use the Journals tab on the top of the library home page.
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, American Journal of Political Science in the search box.
  • Look for the journal title in the results list.
  • Click on an appropriate database.
  • Link to the correct issue of the periodical (note the year, issue and volume number of the article).

If an electronic text is available, click on the link provided.  If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, click on the link Print Journals in Milne Library to check for the periodical’s location and availability.

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed or through the link on the bottom of the homepage of the library website. See a librarian for help. 

Finding Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals

The advanced search feature of “Search Everything” (which is located on the Milne Library web site) is a good resource for locating book reviews published in scholarly journals.  At the advanced search screen, enter the title of the book and the term “book review.”  Check the box under Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals.  Then click the Search button.  

How to evaluate information located on the World Wide Web

Virginia Tech University Libraries: Evaluating webpages for research

http://guides.lib.vt.edu/MUS-TA10042016/eval

University of North Carolina University Library’s Evaluating Websites: Checklist

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mMKuIlvj0WQ

 

michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu

Revised February 21, 2018