It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 100: Western Civilization I (Friery): Home
How To Start
When you begin a research project, it is a good idea to take a moment to reflect on your prior knowledge of the topic area. How much do you already know about this topic? How confident are you in moving forward with this topic? In most cases, you will need to do a bit of research to get some general information on your topic.
A great way to gather background information is through searching reference materials. Reference materials such as Encyclopedias and Dictionaries are arranged alphabetically and contain a general overview of a term or subject matter.
The library has access to encyclopedias and dictionaries in print and online through particular databases. Below you will find a list of reference materials that will be helpful in your research.
Provides full text online access to the complete 250-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
A collection of full text electronic reference books covering many subject areas. Can be searched by keyword, source, subject, image caption, full text, and audience. Individual books can be combined for cross-title searching.
Africa by Daniel Jean-Jacques (Editor); Toyin Falola (Editor)These volumes offer a one-stop resource for researching the lives, customs, and cultures of Africa's nations and peoples. * Supplies entries that are more extensive than in most comparable encyclopedic works * Arranges content alphabetically by country, then by topic, with suggestions for further reading following each * Includes contributions from numerous eminent scholars of African history * Provides a clear African voice via entries from scholars from the African continent
Call Number: REF DT14 A3415 2016
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
The Age of Wars of Religion, 1000-1650 by Cathal J. NolanThe Age of Wars of Religion saw navies, armies, armed merchant companies, and mercenaries battle one another and local potentates in many lands and along numerous shores. Wars of religion were fought in and between all the major religions and civilizations, from Europe to China, in Africa, and in the isolated Americas, mixing motives of knightly idealism, mercenary greed, and competing claims of divine sanction. This unparalleled work traces the extraordinary upheavals of the period in military technology, competing theologies, and civilizational change that were brought about by, or impinged upon, military conflict. It offers nearly 2,000 discrete but cross-referenced entries on cultural, military, religious and political history, as well as geography, biography, and military literature. Close to 2,000 entries offer detailed information on the major events, places, battles, figures, technologies, and ideas one must know to begin to make sense of the past six centuries of global conflicts. Though especially ferocious and intense, the Wars of Reformation and Counter-Reformation fought by Europeans from the 15th through 17th centuries were hardly unique in world or military history. The Byzantine Empire, bastion of Christian Orthodoxy, staggered to the tortuous end of its long conflict with the Ottoman Empire, the Great Power of the Sunni Muslim world. The Ottomans, in turn, were still engaged in an equally ancient intra-Muslim war, between Sunnis and Shi'ites. In India, the Hindu Rajputs and Marathas, and also the Sikhs, organized armies around religious communities to throw off the Muslim Yoke (Mughul Empire), and also fought against Christian invaders from Europe. As for the isolated Americas, ideas of divine kingship sustained by powerful priesthoods and religious warfare also prevailed, as exemplified by the Inca and Aztec empires.
Ancient Greece and Rome by Michael Gagarin (Editor)The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome is the clearest and most accessible guide to the world of classical antiquity ever produced. This multivolume reference work is a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world--Greek, Hellenistic, andRoman--from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequent centuries. The Encyclopedia brings the work of the best classical scholars, archaeologists, and historians together in an easy-to-use format.The articles, written by leading scholars in the field, seek to convey the significance of the people, places, and historical events of classical antiquity, together with its intellectual and material culture. Broad overviews of literature, history, archaeology, art, philosophy, science, andreligion are complimented by articles on authors and their works, literary genres and periods, historical figures and events, archaeologists and archaeological sites, artists and artistic themes and materials, philosophers and philosophical schools, scientists and scientific areas, gods, heroes, andmyths. Areas covered include:* Greek and Latin Literature* Authors and Their Works* Historical Figures and Events* Religion and Mythology* Art, Artists, Artistic Themes, and Materials* Archaeology, Philosophers, and Philosophical Schools* Science and Technology* Politics, Economics, and Society* Material Culture and Everyday Life
Call Number: REF DE5 .O95 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-31
Ancient Greek Philosophy by Anthony PreusThe ancient Greeks were not only the founders of western philosophy, but the actual term "philosophy" is Greek in origin, most likely dating back to the late sixth century BC. Socrates, Plato, Aristotle, Pythagoras, Euclid, and Thales are but a few of the better-known philosophers of ancient Greece. During the amazingly fertile period running from roughly the middle of the first millennium BC to the middle of the first millennium AD, the world saw the rise of science, numerous schools of thought, and--many believe--the birth of modern civilization. This second edition of Historical Dictionary of Ancient Greek Philosophy covers the history of Greek philosophy through a chronology, an introductory essay, a glossary, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1500 cross-referenced entries on important philosophers, concepts, issues, and events. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Greek philosophy.
Call Number: REF B111 P74 2015
Publication Date: 2015-02-12
Animals in the Ancient World from A to Z by Kenneth KitchellThe ancient Greeks and Romans lived in a world teeming with animals. Animals were integral to ancient commerce, war, love, literature and art. Inside the city they were found as pets, pests, and parasites. They could be sacred, sacrificed, liminal, workers, or intruders from the wild. Beyond the city domesticated animals were herded and bred for profit and wild animals were hunted for pleasure and gain alike. Specialists like Aristotle, Aelian, Pliny and Seneca studied their anatomy and behavior. Geographers and travelers described new lands in terms of their animals. Animals are to be seen on every possible artistic medium, woven into cloth and inlaid into furniture. They are the subject of proverbs, oaths and dreams. Magicians, physicians and lovers turned to animals and their parts for their crafts. They paraded before kings, inhabited palaces, and entertained the poor in the arena. Quite literally, animals pervaded the ancient world from A-Z. In entries ranging from short to long, Kenneth Kitchell offers insight into this commonly overlooked world, covering representative and intriguing examples of mammals, reptiles, amphibians and invertebrates. Familiar animals such as the cow, dog, fox and donkey are treated along with more exotic animals such as the babirussa, pangolin, and dugong. The evidence adduced ranges from Minoan times to the Late Roman Empire and is taken from archaeology, ancient authors, inscriptions, papyri, coins, mosaics and all other artistic media. Whenever possible reasoned identifications are given for ancient animal names and the realities behind animal lore are brought forth. Why did the ancients think hippopotamuses practiced blood letting on themselves? How do you catch a monkey? Why were hyenas thought to be hermaphroditic? Was there really a vampire moth? Entries are accompanied by full citations to ancient authors and an extensive bibliography. Of use to Classics students and scholars, but written in a style designed to engage anyone interested in Greco-Roman antiquity, Animals in the Ancient World from A to Zreveals the extent and importance of the animal world to the ancient Greeks and Romans. It answers many questions, asks several more, and seeks to stimulate further research in this important field.
Call Number: REF QL355 .K58 2014
Publication Date: 2013-10-15
The Atlas of Ancient Rome by Andrea CarandiniThe Atlas of Ancient Rome provides a comprehensive archaeological survey of the city of Rome from prehistory to the early medieval period. Lavishly illustrated throughout with full-color maps, drawings, photos, and 3D reconstructions, this magnificent two-volume slipcased edition features the latest discoveries and scholarship, with new descriptions of more than 500 monuments, including the Sanctuary of Vesta, the domus Augusti, and the Mausoleum of Augustus. It is destined to become the standard reference for scholars, students, and anyone interested in the history of the city of Rome. The Atlas of Ancient Rome is monumental in scope. It examines the city's topography and political-administrative divisions, trade and economic production, and social landscape and infrastructure--from residential neighborhoods and gardens to walls, roads, aqueducts, and sewers. It describes the fourteen regions of Rome and the urban history of each in unprecedented detail, and includes profiles and reconstructions of major monuments and works of art. This is the only atlas of the ancient city to incorporate the most current archaeological findings and use the latest mapping technologies. Authoritative and easy to use, The Atlas of Ancient Rome is the definitive illustrated reference book on Rome from its origins to the sixth century AD. Fully updated from the Italian edition to include the latest discoveries and scholarship Features a wealth of maps, illustrations, and 3D reconstructions Covers Rome's topography, economy, urban infrastructure, and more Includes profiles of major monuments and works of art Draws on the latest archaeological findings and mapping technologies Twenty years in the making by a team of leading experts
Call Number: REF DG63 .A8513 2017
Publication Date: 2017-07-11
Atlas of Exploration by Oxford (Editor)From the ancient Polynesians who struck out across the vast Pacific in dug-out canoes with only the stars to guide them, to the Victorian missionaries and adventurers who opened the way for European colonial expansion, and the intrepid scientists of our own time, explorers have long testedtheir courage in an uncharted world. The Atlas of Exploration, now in an updated Second Edition, is a splendidly illustrated and authoritative history of these bold adventures. With a vivid and informative text, supported by nearly 100 specially drawn maps and 300 photographs and illustrations, it traces these journeys ofdiscovery from the earliest recorded trips, ranging from the time of the Phoenicians' voyages in the North Atlantic through the launch of the first Pluto explorer. We follow Cortes in Mexico, La Salle on the Mississippi, Darwin in the Galapagos Islands, James Cook in the Antarctic, and many others.In each section, graphic relief maps highlight the main routes of exploration, while photographs, paintings and engravings brilliantly capture the variety of terrain through which these courageous men and women passed. Also included are maps from different historical periods which revealcartographers' growing knowledge of the shape of the world's continents and oceans. The final section of the atlas, thoroughly updated and expanded, covers many of the discoveries of the last decade. The Second Edition also contains new biographical details on many great explorers, geographers, andcartographers, plus a revised time chart which summarizes the history of exploration over 5000 years. From the High Andes to the ocean depths, from the Sahara desert to the outer planets, The Atlas of Exploration allows us to rediscover the extraordinary journeys of humanity. Opening its pages is taking the first step on a grand adventure. "Strong on colorful anecdotes, scholarly detail, and historical background, this atlas offers a lot more than maps."--Merle Rubin, The Christian Science Monitor "While historical atlases often include one or more maps illustrating the European `discovery' of the Western Hemisphere, Africa, and Asia, Oxford has assembled an entire atlas devoted to the subject of exploration that avoids a Eurocentric viewpoint.... This handsome publication would be a usefuland affordable addition to any reference collection and is highly recommended for all libraries."--Library Journal "With modern maps overlaid with the routes of explorers, this colorful album covers the globe and should be a delectable treat for patrons since it provides an exciting visual introduction to the subject, backed up by a concise summary of explorers and their motives."--Booklist
Call Number: REF ATLAS CASE G1036.S12 G4 2008
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Atlas of World History by Patrick K. O'Brien (Editor)Synthesizing exceptional cartography and impeccable scholarship, the Atlas of World History traces 12,000 years of history with 450 full color maps and over 200,000 words of text. In addition, more than 200 illustrations and tables complement the fascinating chronological narrative written bydozens premiere scholars and edited by Patrick O'Brien, former Director of the Institute of Historical Research at the University of London. Longer essays outline worldwide trends, political developments and military conflicts, highlighting the most significant socio-economic, cultural and religiousthemes for five pivotal historical periods. What truly distinguishes the Concise Atlas of World History from competitive Eurocentric volumes, is its devotion the rich past of Africa, Asia and the Americas. Cross references and an 8,000 entry index with alternative name forms also permit movementthrough regions and time periods with the utmost of ease.
Call Number: REF ATLAS CASE G1030 .O9 1999
Publication Date: 1999-12-02
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World by Richard J. A. Talbert (Editor)In 102 full-color maps spread over 175 pages, the Barrington Atlas re-creates the entire world of the Greeks and Romans from the British Isles to the Indian subcontinent and deep into North Africa. It spans the territory of more than 75 modern countries. Its large format (13 1/4 x 18 in. or 33.7 x 46.4 cm) has been custom-designed by the leading cartographic supplier, MapQuest.com, Inc., and is unrivaled for range, clarity, and detail. Over 70 experts, aided by an equal number of consultants, have worked from satellite-generated aeronautical charts to return the modern landscape to its ancient appearance, and to mark ancient names and features in accordance with the most up-to-date historical scholarship and archaeological discoveries. Chronologically, the Barrington Atlas spans archaic Greece to the Late Roman Empire, and no more than two standard scales (1:500,000 and 1:1,000,000) are used to represent most regions. Since the 1870s, all attempts to map the classical world comprehensively have failed. The Barrington Atlas has finally achieved that elusive and challenging goal. It began in 1988 at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, under the direction of the distinguished ancient historian Richard Talbert, and has been developed with approximately $4.5 million in funding support. The resulting Barrington Atlas is a reference work of permanent value. It has an exceptionally broad appeal to everyone worldwide with an interest in the ancient Greeks and Romans, the lands they penetrated, and the peoples and cultures they encountered in Europe, North Africa, and Western Asia. Scholars and libraries should find it essential. It is also for students, travelers, lovers of fine cartography, and anyone eager to retrace Alexander's eastward marches, cross the Alps with Hannibal, traverse the Eastern Mediterranean with St. Paul, or ponder the roads, aqueducts, and defense works of the Roman Empire. For the new millennium the Barrington Atlas brings the ancient past back to life in an unforgettably vivid and inspiring way. Map-by-Map Directory A Map-by-Map Directory to the Barrington Atlas is available online (http://press.princeton.edu/B_ATLAS/B_ATLAS.PDF) and in a separate two-volume print edition of close to 1,500 pages. The Directory is designed to provide information about every place or feature in the Barrington Atlas. The section for each map comprises: a concise text drawing attention to special difficulties in mapping a region, such as extensive landscape change since antiquity, or uneven modern exploration. a listing of every name and feature on the map, with basic data about the period of occupation, the modern equivalents of ancient placenames, the modern country within which they are located, and brief references to relevant ancient testimony or modern studies. a bibliography of works cited. The Map-by-Map Directory is an essential accompaniment to the Barrington Atlas. As a uniquely rich, comprehensive, up-to-date distillation of evidence and scholarship, it has no match elsewhere and opens the way to an immense variety of further research initiatives.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization by Graham Shipley; Lin Foxhall; David Mattingly; John VanderspoelThe Cambridge Guide to Classical Civilization provides an authoritative survey of the classical world, combining the traditional strengths of classical subjects with new approaches examining the social and cultural features of the ancient Greek and Roman world. Ranging in time from post-Bronze Age Greece to the later Roman Empire, it looks not only at ancient Greece and Rome, but discusses those cultures with which Greeks and Romans exchanged information and culture (e.g. Phoenicians, Celts and Jews) and those remote peoples with whom they were in contact (e.g. Persia, China and India). It paints a vivid new picture of ancient life, exploring material realities such as dress and technology. It emphasises the transmission of classical learning and explores our debts to Greece and Rome. Highly-illustrated, with hundreds of entries by leading scholars, this Guide is a superb reference work and definitive companion for anyone with an interest in the ancient world.
Call Number: REF DE5 .C28 2006
Publication Date: 2006-06-08
The Cambridge World History of Food by Kenneth F. Kiple (Editor); Kriemhild Conee Ornelas (Editor)An undertaking without parallel or precedent, this monumental volume encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional make-up and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labelling, and entitlements. It culminates in a dictionary that identifies and sketches out brief histories of plant foods mentioned in the text - over 1,000 in all - and additionally supplies thousands of common names and synonyms for those foods.
Call Number: REF TX353 .C255 2000
Publication Date: 1999-07-01
The Cambridge World History of Human Disease by Kenneth F. Kiple (Editor)Combining recent medical discoveries with historical and geographical scholarship, this is the most comprehensive history of human disease since August Hirsch's monumental Handbook of Geographical and Historical Pathology in 1880. Accessible to laypeople and specialists alike, The Cambridge World History of Human Disease explores the patterns of disease throughout the world as well as the variety of approaches that different medical traditions have used to fight it. The volume traces the concept of disease as medicine developed from an art to a science, then addresses the history of disease in each major world region. The final and largest part offers the history and geography of each significant human disease - both historical and contemporary - from AIDS to yellow fever. A truly interdisciplinary history, it includes contributions from over 160 medical and social scientists from across the globe. Together with The Cambridge World History of Food (2000), The Cambridge World History of Human Disease provides an extraordinary glimpse of what is known about human health as the twenty-first century begins.
Call Number: REF R131 .C233 1993
Publication Date: 1993-01-29
Cassell's Chronology of World History by Hywel WilliamsThis extraordinary reference provides a comprehensive summary of world history from the earliest recorded evens to the start of the third millennium. Arranged in an accessible year by year form that invites browsing, it answers research questions, and illuminates similarities and contrasts between different nations and different ages. With narrative essays preceding every section, spotlight essays on key historical themes, and detailed profiles of 101 of history's most influential thinkers, it offers a depth of insight that goes far beyond a mere listing of important dates. Here is the whole vast panorama of history in every region of the globe-wars, migrations, disasters, discoveries, inventions, the birth of new religions, the rise and fall of nations-complete with authoritative commentary that pulls it all together in a broad and informative perspective.
Call Number: REF D11 .W635 2005
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Chronology of World History by Helicon EditorsThis four volume set, which includes 70,000 events compiled by 27 contributing editors, constitutes the most complete and current chronology of world history ever created. * Entries ranging from Art and Economics to Politics and Technology, and cover both major and minor events throughout world history * Rigorous scholarly review of all material and full indexes for each volume
A Companion to Women in the Ancient World by Sharon L. James; Sheila Dillon (Editor)Selected by Choice as a 2012 Outstanding Academic Title Awarded a 2012 PROSE Honorable Mention as a Single Volume Reference/Humanities & Social Sciences A Companion to Women in the Ancient World presents an interdisciplinary, methodologically-based collection of newly-commissioned essays from prominent scholars on the study of women in the ancient world. The first interdisciplinary, methodologically-based collection of readings to address the study of women in the ancient world Explores a broad range of topics relating to women in antiquity, including: Mother-Goddess Theory; Women in Homer, Pre-Roman Italy, the Near East; Women and the Family, the State, and Religion; Dress and Adornment; Female Patronage; Hellenistic Queens; Imperial Women; Women in Late Antiquity; Early Women Saints; and many more Thematically arranged to emphasize the importance of historical themes of continuity, development, and innovation Reconsiders much of the well-known evidence and preconceived notions relating to women in antiquity Includes contributions from many of the most prominent scholars associated with the study of women in antiquity
Call Number: REF HQ1127 C637 2012
Publication Date: 2012-02-20
The Complete Atlas of World History by John HaywoodSpanning the period from the emergence of humankind to the present, the Atlas illuminates world history with 192 magnificent full-color detailed maps and clear, highly readable commentary. Each main section of the Atlas begins by focusing on an overview of the world, then follows with chapters on specific regions around the world, incorporating relevant themes of the period, including: religion, agriculture, economics, trade, war, and population. Colorful maps, time lines, and clear text combine to make The Complete Atlas of World History an invaluable resource for studying the entire human story. Presented in three volumes --Volume 1: Prehistory and the Ancient World 4,000,000 years ago-AD 600 (includes the Ancient World, 4,000,000 years ago- 500 BC and the Classical World, 500 BC-AD 600) --Volume 2: The Medieval and Early Modern World AD 600-1783 (includes the Medieval World, AD 600-1492 and the period from Columbus to American Independence, AD 1492-1783) --Volume 3: The Modern World 1783-Present (includes the Nineteenth-Century World, AD 1783-1914 and the period from World War I to the Present, AD 1914-1997) Each main section of the Atlas first focuses on a world overview, then follows with chapters on specific regions around the world, incorporating certain relevant themes of the period, including: religion, agriculture, economics, trade, war, and population. Throughout, colorful maps, time lines, and clear text combine to make The Complete Atlas of World History an invaluable resource for studying world history.
Call Number: REF G1030 .C66 1997
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Complete Royal Families of Ancient Egypt by Aidan Dodson; Dyan HiltonThis groundbreaking book illuminates the lives of some 1,300 kings, queens, princes, and princesses of ancient Egypt, unraveling family relationships and exploring the parts they played in politics, cultural life, and religion.The authors begin with a basic summary of the structure of the pharaonic state, including the nature of ancient Egyptian kingship itself, and then introduce key members of the royal family. This is followed by a chronological survey of the royal family from c. 3100 BC to the last Cleopatra. For each dynasty, or significant part of a dynasty, the authors provide an historical overview of the period, a summary listing of the kings, and a discussion of their families' relationships.This superb biographical history of ancient Egypt is handsomely illustrated with hundreds of photographs, line drawings, and genealogical trees.
Call Number: REF DT83 D63 2004
Publication Date: 2004-10-06
The Crusades by Alan V. Murray (Editor)The first multivolume encyclopedia to document the history of one of the most influential religious movements of the Middle Ages—the Crusades. * 1,000 A–Z entries and texts dealing with individual crusades, people such as the kings of Jerusalem and emperors of Constantinople, places such as Jerusalem, Antioch, and Riga, institutions, literary and historiographical sources, and thematic aspects * 120 contributors representing 25 countries * A chronology of crusading expeditions * 54 maps of major crusades and settlements in the Holy Land, Greece, Iberia, and the Baltic lands * Photographs of castles and landscapes and illustrations of artworks and coins
Call Number: REF D155 .C78 2006
Publication Date: 2006-08-30
Cultural Atlas of Ancient Egypt by John Baines; Jaromir MalekThe Cultural Atlas series combines intellectual depth and visual richness as it distills and synthesizes an enormous amount of information. Weaving together geography, history, archaeology, anthropology, architecture, the arts, and more, these handsomely designed, interdisciplinary volumes encompass the entire physical and cultural world of each civilization, evoking its unique spirit and vitality. Delight the eye, inform the mind Designed to appeal to both the serious student and the more casual reader, the Cultural Atlas series is written with authority and clarity. Panoramic in scope, these volumes provide an overview of places and peoples through the centuries and are illustrated throughout with hundreds of striking and informative photographs and drawings. Each volume is divided into three key sections: -- Geographical/ethnographic background -- Cultural history -- A tour of present-day regions. From the temples of Abu Simbel in Lower Nubia to the ruins of Tunis in the delta, here is a vivid portrait of the fascinating, enigmatic civilizations that flourished along the Nile for some 6,000 years.
Call Number: REF DT56.9 .B34
Publication Date: 1980-10-01
A Cultural History of Women in Antiquity by Linda Kalof (Editor); Ellen Pollak (Editor); Teresa Mangum (Editor); Kim Phillips (Editor); Patricia MacCormack (Editor); Janet Tulloch (Editor); Karen Raber (Editor)A Cultural History of Women presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present. With six volumes covering 2500 years, this is the most authoritative history available of women in Western cultures. 1. A Cultural History of Women in Antiquity 2. A Cultural History of Women in the Middle Ages 3. A Cultural History of Women in the Renaissance 4. A Cultural History of Women in the Age of Enlightenment 5. A Cultural History of Women in the Age of Empire 6. A Cultural History of Women in the Modern Age Each volume discusses the same themes in its chapters: the Life Cycle; Bodies and Sexuality; Religion and Popular Beliefs; Medicine and Disease; Public and Private Worlds; Education and Work; Power; and Artistic Representation. This means readers can either have a broad overview of a period by reading a volume or follow a theme through history by reading the relevant chapter in each volume. Superbly illustrated, the full six volume set combines to present the most authoritative and comprehensive survey available on women through history.
Call Number: REF HQ1121 .C83 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-25
Dictionary of Battles and Sieges by Tony JaquesLead Reviewer: Dr. Daniel Coetzee, Independent Scholar, London, UK Review Board: Jeremy Black, University of Exeter, UK Dr. Frances F. Berdan, Professor of Anthropology, California State University, San Bernardino David A. Graff, Associate Professor, Department of History, Kansas State University Dr. Kevin Jones, University College London Dr. John Laband, Wilfrid Laurier University, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada Dr. Carter Malkasian, Center for Naval Analysis Mr. Toby McLeod, Lecturer in Modern History, University of Birmingham, UK Dr. Tim Moreman, Independent Scholar, London, UK Professor Bill Nasson, Department of Historical Studies, University of Cape Town, South Africa Dr. David Nicolle, Honourary Research Fellow, Nottingham University, UK Dr. Kaushik Roy, Lecturer, Department of History, Presidency College, Kolkata, India Dennis Showalter, Professor of History, Colorado College Dr. Stephen Turnbull, Lecturer in Japanese Religious Studies, Department of Theology and Religious Studies, Leeds University, UK Professor Michael Whitby, Professor of Classics and Ancient History, University of Warwick, UK Over 8,500 battles and sieges are covered-easily the most exhaustive reference source on this basic aspect of military history. Thoroughly vetted by an expert board of period and regional experts, this dictionary offers easy to find A-Z entries that cover conflicts from practically every era and place of human history. In addition to exhaustive coverage of World War II, World War I, the American Civil War, medieval wars, and conflicts during the classical era, this dictionary covers battles fought in pre-modern Africa, the Middle East, Ancient and Medieval India, China, and Japan, and early meso-American warfare as well. Going well beyond the typical greatest or most influential battle format, The Dictionary of Battles and Sieges offers readers information they would be hard-pressed to find anywhere else. Entries were reviewed by area and period experts to ensure accuracy and to provide the broadest coverage possible. Jaques's Dictionary is truly global in scope, covering East Asia, South Asia, Eurasia, Europe, Africa, Mesoamerica, and North and South America. Battles from wars great and small are in the dictionary, including battles from this very brief sampling of wars covered, listed to give an idea of the book's deep coverage: Egyptian-Syrian Wars (1468 BC); the Assyrian Wars (724 - 648 BC); Greco-Persian Wars (498 - 450 BC); the Conquests of Alexander the Great (335-326 BC); Rome's Gallic Wars (121-52 BC); Han Imperial Wars (208); Hun-Ostrogoth Wars (454-68); Sino-Vietnamese Wars (547-605); Mecca-Medina War (624-30); Jinshin War (672); Berber Rebellion (740-61); Viking Raids on, and in, Britain (793-954); Sino-Annamese War (938); Byzantine Military Rebellions (978-89); Afghan Wars of Succession (998-1041); Russian Dynastic Wars (1016-94); Reconquista (1063-1492); Crusader-Muslim Wars (1100- 1179); Swedish Wars of Succession (1160-1210); Conquests of Genghis Khan (1202-27); William Wallace Revolt (1297-1304); Hundred Years War (1337-1453); War of Chioggia (1378-80); Vijayanagar-Bahmani Wars (1367-1406); Ottoman Civil Wars (1413-81); Mongol-Uzbek Wars (1497-1512); German Knights' War (1523); Burmese-Laotian Wars (1574); Cambodian-Spanish War (1599); King Philip's War (1675-77); Franco-Barbary Wars (1728); Bengal War (1763-65); French Revolutionary Wars (1792-1801); Chilean War of Independence (1813-26); Boer-Zulu War (1838); Indian Mutiny (1858-59); Mexican-French War (1862-67); Sino-Japanese War (1894-95); World War I (1914-18); Anhwei-Chihli War (1920); World War II (1939-45) Mau Mau Revolt (1955); 2nd Indo-Pakistani War (1965); Angolan War (1987-88); 2nd Gulf War (2003- ).
The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by Michael Kelly (Editor-In-Chief); Malcolm Budd (Contribution by); Whitney Davis (Contribution by); Edward Dimendberg (Contribution by); Daniel Herwitz (Contribution by); Gregg Horowitz (Contribution by); Catherine Soussloff (Contribution by)The first reference of its kind, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics was originally published in 1998 in four volumes. Now expanded to include over 800 entries, the Encyclopedia surveys the full breadth of critical thought on art, culture, and society, from classical philosophy to contemporary criticaltheory. Contributors as prominent as Arthur C. Danto and John Hollander provide analyses of the major philosophers and artists whose works have impacted Aesthetics; of theories and trends such as Conceptualism and Postcolonialism; and of concepts ranging from the abject to synthesia.The field of Aesthetics is an evolving one, and as such the Encyclopedia has been updated and expanded, creating a six-volume second edition with enhanced or new coverage of international aesthetics, modern aesthetics, new media, and new fields of research such as geoaesthetics and neuroaesthetics.Featuring 815 articles by distinguished scholars from many fields and countries, the Encyclopedia is a comprehensive survey of major concepts, thinkers, and debates about the meaning, uses, and value of the arts - from painting and sculpture to literature, music, theater, textiles, dance,television, film, and sound art. Of special interest are in-depth surveys of Western aesthetics and broad coverage of non-Western traditions (e.g., Buddhist and Sanskrit Aesthetics). Over 250 new entries have been added altogether, with the first edition's editor-in-chief, Professor Michael Kelly of the University of North Carolinaat Charlotte, overseeing the updates and expansion.
Call Number: REF BH56 E53 2014
Publication Date: 2014-07-02
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by Angelo Di Berardino (General Editor); Thomas C. Oden (Consultant Editor); Joel C. Elowsky (Consultant Editor); James Hoover (Consultant Editor)2014 Midwest Publishing Association Award of Excellence (Scholarly/Reference)2014 Readers' Choice Awards Honorable MentionThe Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity covers eight centuries of the Christian church and comprises 3,220 entries by a team of 266 scholars from 26 countries representing a variety of Christian traditions. It draws upon such fields as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, cultural studies, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.This three-volume encyclopedia offers unparalleled, comprehensive coverage of the people, places and ideas of ancient Christianity, including:cultural currentsevents and movementsphilosophyiconography and architecturearchaeologytexts and translationstheological termsdoctrinesliturgyspiritualitymonasticismChristian sectsheresiescontroversiescouncilsThe encyclopedia's A-to-Z coverage extends from "Aaron (iconography)" to "Zosimus, pope" and chronologically from Christianity's origins to Bede (d. 735) in the West and John of Damascus (d. ca. 749) in the Greek East, with detailed emphasis on the first four centuries of Christian history. Its geographical range reaches across:North AfricaMauretaniaNumidiaAfrica Proconsularis ByzacenaLibyaEgyptNubiaEthiopiaAsiaAdiabeneArmeniaBithynia & PontusGeorgiaCappadociaLycia and PamphyliaPhrygiaSyriaMesopotamiaArabiaPalestinePersiaChinaEuropeGaulSpain & PortugalItalyGermanyBritain and IrelandScotlandPannoniaDalmatiaMacedoniaMoesiaThraceCyprusCreteThis edition updates and expands on previous Italian and English-language editions with the addition of more than 500 new articles (added to the current Italian or English edition), including the following 30 articles exclusive to IVP's edition:apostolic seeCapuaCarmen de synodo TicinensiChinacosmopolitanismdeathdiakonia/diaconateDialogi de sancta Trinitate IV-Vdoorkeeper (porter)dynamis/energeiaeternityforgivenessfreedom/free willgoodHierotheusincubatioinfinity/infinitudelibelli miraculorumloveMara bar Serapion (letter of)oikeiosisold agepresanctifiedSerapeion (Serapeum)subdeaconTheosebiaTriumphus Christi heroicusTychonunityVirgo ParensExtensive cross-referencing provides ease in exploring related articles, and helpful bibliographies, including primary sources (texts, critical editions, translations) and key secondary sources (books and journal articles), give access to the very latest in-depth scholarship in countless disciplines of study.IVP's new Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity (2014) is translated from Nuovo dizionario patristico e di antichita cristiane (2006-2008), produced by the Institutum Patristicum Augustinianum, the world's foremost center for partristic studies, under the direction of Professor Angelo Di Berardino, and it greatly updates and expands the 1992 Encyclopedia of the Early Church (Oxford University Press/James Clarke).
Call Number: REF BR66.5 D5813 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-28
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientists by Paul T. Keyser (Editor); Georgia L. Irby-Massie (Editor)The Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientistsis the first comprehensive English language work to provide a survey of all ancient natural science, from its beginnings through the end of Late Antiquity. A team of over 100 of the world's experts in the field have compiled this Encyclopedia, including entries which are not mentioned in any other reference work - resulting in a unique and hugely ambitious resource which will prove indispensable for anyone seeking the details of the history of ancient science. Additional features include a Glossary, Gazetteer,and Time-Line. The Glossary explains many Greek (or Latin) terms difficult to translate, whilst the Gazetteer describes the many locales from which scientists came. The Time-Line shows the rapid rise in the practice of science in the 5thcentury BCE and rapid decline after Hadrian, due to the centralization of Roman power, with consequent loss of a context within which science could flourish.
Call Number: REF Q124.95 .E53 2008
Publication Date: 2009-01-29
Encyclopedia of European Social History by Peter N. Stearns (Editor)"Covering the period from the beginning of the Renaissance to the present, this encyclopedia consists of 209 signed articles and nearly 300 biographical entries. The set is thoroughly indexed, amply illustrated, and a joy to read. Graduate students will find it useful as an introduction to historiography while advanced high school students will enjoy the articles on historical topics."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2001.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World by Richard C. MartinThis title looks at Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries. Containing thematic articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, maps and more, this new encyclopedia fills a need in this key area of religious studies.
Call Number: REF BP40 .E525 2004
Publication Date: 2003-12-02
Encyclopedia of Motherhood by Andrea O'Reilly (Editor)In the last decade, the topic of motherhood has emerged as a distinct and established field of scholarly inquiry. A cursory review of motherhood research reveals that hundreds of scholarly articles have been published on almost every motherhood theme imaginable. The Encyclopedia of Motherhood is a collection of approximately 700 articles in a three-volume, A-to-Z set exploring major topics related to motherhood, from geographical, historical and cultural entries to anthropological and psychological contributions. In human society, few institutions are as important as motherhood, and this unique encyclopedia captures the interdisciplinary foundation of the subject in one convenient reference. The Encyclopedia is a comprehensive resource designed to provide an understanding of the complexities of motherhood for academic and public libraries, and is written by academics and institutional experts in the social and behavioural sciences.
Call Number: REF HQ759 .E52 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-06
Encyclopedia of ReligionAmong Library Journal's selections of the most important reference works of the millennium - with the Encyclopedia Judaica and the New Catholic Encyclopedia - Mircea Eliade's Encyclopedia of Religion won the American Library Associations' Dartmouth Medal in 1988 and is widely regarded as the standard reference work in the field. This second edition, which is intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987, will include almost all of the 2750 original entries - many heavily updated - as well as approximately 600 (1.2M words) entirely new articles. Preserving the best of Eliade's cross-cultural approach while emphasizing religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture, this new edition will be the definitive work in the field for the 21st century. An international team of scholars and contributors have reviewed, revised and added to every word of a classic work to make it relevant to the questions and interests of readers, whether students, specialists, or laypersons. The result is an essential purchase for libraries of all kinds. Every article from the first edition was evaluated by our board of scholars. of study are given their own entries. New composite entries present overarching themes - for example, gender and religion, politics and religion - with each article within the composite covering a different religious tradition. Many of the reprinted articles from the first-edition have updated bibliographies. This is an indispensable resource for any school with a department or programme in religious studies. Additionally, articles support the curriculum and general research in history, gender studies, language and literature, music, the visual arts, history, politics, ecology, health and medicine, law, sociology and anthropology. Three Colour inserts serve as pictorial essays illuminating themes such as pilgrimage, prayer, healing, and how these concepts are displayed in various religions throughout the world. Illustrations go beyond the typical stock imagery and present images of authentic value not readily available elsewhere.
Call Number: REF BL31 .E46 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
Encyclopedia of the Black Death by Joseph P. ByrneThis encyclopedia provides 300 interdisciplinary, cross-referenced entries that document the effect of the plague on Western society across the four centuries of the second plague pandemic, balancing medical history and technical matters with historical, cultural, social, and political factors. * 300 A-Z interdisciplinary entries on medical matters and historical issues * Each entry includes up-to-date resources for further research
Call Number: REF RC172 .B98 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation by Thomas Goddard Bergin; Jennifer SpeakeExploring the period of transition from medieval to modern times, Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation, Revised Edition covers all aspects of the European Renaissance and Reformation, from visual arts and architecture to philosophy, religion, and politics. In some 2,100 A-to-Z entries, this comprehensive reference provides detailed information on three centuries that have defined the shape of modern Western civilization. The scope of this encyclopedia is the 14th, 15th, and 16th centuries, during which time the pivotal events of the Renaissance and Reformation occurred, irrevocably changing the future's course. as well as general interest topics such as the role of women, drawing, families, food and cookery, literacy, libraries, and travel. Along with the addition of substantial new material emphasizing the recent findings of cultural historians, the text has been updated and revised throughout, taking into account the newest scholarship. Encyclopedia of the Renaissance and the Reformation, Revised Edition is complete with a new introduction, chronology, and bibliography, as well as a comprehensive index, approximately 100 black-and-white photographs, and an insert of 20 full-color images. An authoritative work for students and professionals alike, the encyclopedia is an accessible reference written with the non-specialist in mind.
Call Number: REF CB359 .B47 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Encyclopedia of the Roman Army by Yann le Bohec (Editor)The Encyclopedia of the Roman Army is a comprehensive three-volume reference to the armed forces deployed by ancient Rome during its Early Period, Republic, Principate, and Late Antique times. A comprehensive three-volume reference work on one of the greatest military institutions in world history Offers broad coverage of the Roman army, from the lives of individual soldiers to military issues such as hierarchical command structure, tactics, strategy, and battle Analyzes the Roman army from a modern historical perspective including exploration of large themes relating to the military and Rome s economy, politics, and religion Spans Early Rome, Republic, Principate and Late Antiquity periods Includes contributions from many internationally renowned historians 3 Volumes www.wileyonlinelibrary.com/ref/romanarmy
Call Number: REF U35 E53 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-09
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World by Joyce SalisburyAn extensive and fascinating collection of stories featuring both famous and everyday women, giving a well-rounded view of the lives of women in the ancient world. * Entries including women from myth, religion, and legend including Eve, Aphrodite, the earth goddess Gaea, Helen of Troy, and Isis * Entries arranged by categories such as Greece, Rome, Christian, and Northern Europe for ease of research * Many rare and revealing images including a procession of virgin martyrs, ca. A.D. 560 * Photographs of ancient sculptures including a Minoan snake goddess, ca. 1600 B.C.; numerous maps of ancient Greece and Mesopotamia; and a depiction of the Hellenistic monarchies * Genealogical charts of the Herodian family, the family of Augustus, and the Julio-Claudian house
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion by Joanne Bubolz EicherPublishing in summer 2010 in print and online, the 10-volume Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion is the first comprehensive reference work to explore all aspects of dress and fashion globally - from pre-history to the present day. Arranged geographically and written by an internationalteam of experts, the Encyclopedia will serve as the go-to source for all issues relating the art and anthropology of costume, dress, and fashion the world over for students, scholars, members of the design and fashion industries, and fashion aficionados for years to come. The Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion brings together for the first time the work of over 600 renowned scholars from every part of the globe. All articles have been specially commissioned and particular effort has been made to commission articles by indigenous scholars with in-depth localknowledge.
Family, Body, Sexuality and Health by Suad Joseph (Editor); Afsaneh Najmabadi (Editor); Julie Peteet (Editor); Seteney Shami (Editor); Jacqueline Siapno (Editor); Jane I. Smith (Editor)A unique collaboration of over 900 scholars from around the world, the Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a ground-breaking reference work reflecting the very latest research on gender studies and the Islamic world. No other reference work offers this scale of contributions or depth and breadth of coverage. Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures is set to become an essential reference work for students and researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.This encyclopedia consists of six volumes (including an Index volume), published from 2003 to 2007.To download a preview, click here"
Call Number: REF HQ1170 .E53 2003
Publication Date: 2007-04-01
Fashion by Peter McNeil (Editor)Fashion: Critical and Primary Sources is a major multi-volume work of reference which brings together seminal writings on Fashion. Over 100 key essays and articles are brought together for the first time and structured by historical focus. The geographical range of the essays crosses Europe, Asia and North America. The essays reveal the wide set of methodological approaches which all bear on the study of Fashion--Sociology, Art History and Cultural History, Anthropology, Social Theory, Dress and Textile Studies. Ordered chronologically, the four volumes cover the Renaissance, the 18th Century, the 19th Century and the 20th Century-to-today. Each volume is separately introduced and the essays structured into coherent sections on specific themes. Fashion: Critical and Primary Sources will prove a major scholarly resource for any researchers involved in the study of Fashion, Dress and Costume.
Call Number: REF GT580 F374 2008
Publication Date: 2009-03-15
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History by Jill Condra (Editor)How people dressed throughout history often reflects how they lived at the time, and "Clothing in World History" gives the reader a chance to explore clothing in a given place and time while also providing a general history to help put the costumes in context. This set takes the reader on a journey from the beginning of time to present day to look at what people wore in Europe, North America, South America, and Asia. Men's, Women's, and Children's clothing from various social classes, as well as accessories, are be included. This set is a critical guide for secondary and undergraduate students interested in history, social history, art history, fashion, and costume. It covers the history of clothing throughout the world from pre-historic times to 2006. Many cultures are included in this study of clothing within the context of social, political, economic and religious history as they pertain to each time period and place. Researchers can turn to this set first for the most essential information about a time, place, and style of dress. The three volumes are divided into comprehensive parts with the goal of making them easy to use and accessible to readers. There are other books and surveys of the history of costume that mainly concentrate on Western Europe, but few that cover different cultures and how they influence fashion in the western world. This book looks at costume throughout the world and throughout history.
Call Number: REF GT507 .G74 2008
Publication Date: 2007-12-30
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Global Medieval Life and Culture by Joyce E. Salisbury; Nancy SullivanThe period we know as the Middle Ages, roughly the years 400-1400, saw the formation of ideas and institutions that mark modern societies. Developments as disparate as the foundation of Islam and the emergence of the middle class occurred during this pivotal millennium. Although historical study of the Middle Ages has traditionally focused on Western Europe, modern historians recognize the complex global nature of this era. For all major world regions, this three-volume work offers in-depth essays on broad themes, short entries on specific topics, and carefully selected primary documents to help readers more fully understand this critically important period. Edited by Joyce Salisbury, who is general editor of the award-winning "Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life," and written by Professor Salisbury and a series of prominent historians with regional expertise, "Greenwood Encyclopedia of Global Medieval Life and Culture" comprises three volumes covering the following areas of the globe: Volume 1: Europe and the Americas Volume 2: Islam and Africa Volume 3: Asia and Oceania Each regional section comprises seven in-depth essays covering the following broad topics and concluding with bibliographies of important and current information resources: Historical Overview of the Region, Religion, Economy, The Arts, Society, Science and Technology, and Global Ties. The Global Ties essays trace the political, social, economic, religious, technological, or commercial connections that existed between the region under discussion and any other world regions during the Middle Ages. Each regional section also includes a series of brief entries covering people, events, developments, and concepts mentioned in the in-depth essays. Examples of entry topics include the following: Berbers, Emperor Harsha, Ethiopian Christianity, Flowery Warfare, Footbinding, Hildegard of Bingen, Jainism, Jihad, Maya Collapse, Neo-Confucianism, Romanesque, and Sharia. A series of sidebars in each section will provide lists, graphs, charts, and other useful data relating to the region. Each section will also be illustrated and will include a selection of interesting primary documents that further illustrate the main themes addressed in the in-depth essays. Cross-references within the sections and a detailed subject index will also help readers access information in the essays and short entries.
Call Number: REF CB351 .G743 2009
Publication Date: 2008-12-30
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Homes Through World History by James SteeleThe house, throughout history, in every place in the world, has been built to provide shelter from the elements. The dwellings that have resulted are as different as the people that have built them, the social norms that prevailed at the time and place in which they were built and the natural environment that they adapted to. Studying them now in a comprehensive way allows us to understand the social, political, economic and religious conditions that existed for their inhabitants. They are a three-dimensional record of culture. Twenty-four pages of color images, along with black and white images through three volumes, illustrate the homes of people throughout the world.
Call Number: REF NA7105 .S74 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-30
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture by Gordon CampbellThe Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture spans every art form, medium, and civilization the fall of the Roman Empire, The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture is a comprehensive reference source on this important field of study. Drawing on the expansive scholarship of The Dictionary of Art (1996, 34 vols) and Grove Art Online, and adding dozens of new entries, the Encyclopedia includes all subject areas in the classical arts, including philosophers, rulers, writers and artists, architecture, ceramics, sculpture, and more. Arranged alphabetically, this two-volume set contains over 800 entries tracing the development of the art forms in classical civilizations such as ancient Greece and Rome. Illustrated with 400 halftones, maps and line drawings, and 32 color plates, the Encyclopedia is a reliable and convenient resource covering this field of everlasting significance in the development of western culture.
Call Number: REF N5610 .G76 2007
Publication Date: 2007-06-18
The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art by Gordon Campbell (Editor-In-Chief)The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art deals with all aspects of Northern Renaissance art ranging from artists, architecture, and patrons to the cities and centers of production vital to the flourishing of art in this period. This encyclopedia draws upon the unsurpassed scholarshipon the Renaissance in Northern Europe in The Dictionary of Art in addition to dozens of new entries. Comprehensive and engaging, this resource is an accessible reference for students, researchers and scholars researching in this important area.The volumes cover all subject areas in Northern Renaissance art including: biographies of artists, artisans, architects, craftsmen, philosophers, rulers, archaeologists, and historians; countries, cities and centers of production; art forms and architectural monuments and styles; theory, criticism,historiography, collecting, patronage and more. It addresses people and subjects specific to all areas of Northern, Central, and Eastern Europe, including, for example, the diverse geographical regions that now encompass the modern nations of Germany, Austria, France, England, the Netherlands,Belgium, Scandinavia, Poland, and Russia. The Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art provides unparalleled scope and depth in this field, which has inspired and informed Western art for centuries. It offers fully updated articles and bibliography as well as more than 500 illustrations, maps,drawings, diagrams and color plates.
Call Number: REF N6370 .G76 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-19
Historical Dictionary of Byzantium by John H. RosserThe Byzantine Empire dates back to Constantine the Great, the first Christian ruler of the Roman Empire, who, in 330 AD, moved the imperial capital from Rome to a port city in modern-day Turkey, which he then renamed Constantinople in his honor. From its founding, the Byzantine Empire was a major anchor of east-west trade, and culture, art, architecture, and the economy all prospered in the newly Christian empire. As Byzantium moved into the middle and late period, Greek became the official language of both church and state and the Empire’s cultural and religious influence extended well beyond its boundaries. In the mid-15th century, the Ottoman Turks put an end to 1,100 years of Byzantine history by capturing Constantinople, but the Empire’s legacy in art, culture, and religion endured long after its fall.In this revised and updated second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Byzantium, author John H. Rosser introduces both the general reader and the researcher to the history of the Byzantine Empire. This comprehensive dictionary includes detailed, alphabetical entries on key figures, ideas, places, and themes related to Byzantine art, history, and religion, and the second edition contains numerous additional entries on broad topics such as transportation and gender, which were less prominent in the previous edition. An expanded introduction introduces the reader to Byzantium and a guide to further sources and suggested readings can be found in the extensive bibliography that follows the entries. A basic chronology and various maps and illustrations are also included in the dictionary. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Byzantium.
Call Number: REF DF552 .R67 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-22
Historical Dictionary of the Vikings by Katherine HolmanThis book provides a comprehensive work of reference for people interested in the vikings, including entries on the main historical figures involved in this dramatic period, important battles and treaties, significant archaeological finds, and key works and sources of information on the period. It also summarizes the impact the vikings had on the areas where they traveled and settled. There is a chronological table, detailed and annotated bibliographies for different themes and geographical locations, and an introduction discussing the major events and developments of the viking age.
The Mythical Zoo by Boria SaxA varied and insightful compendium of animals and the relationships between humans and animals. * Includes over 50 A-Z conversational entries * Fully illustrated with a variety of images from medieval prints to editorial cartoons and advertisements * Weaves together a cross-cultural tapestry encompassing mythology, history, art, science, philosophy, and literature while discussing the special significance of animals in human cultures * Includes relevant quotes from worldwide texts preceding each entry
Call Number: REF GR705 .S344 2001
Publication Date: 2001-11-16
Notable MathematiciansThis reference profiles the achievements, importance and impact of more than 300 of the world's most significant mathematicians throughout history.
Call Number: REF QA28 .N66 1998
Publication Date: 1998-04-24
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor); Esther EidinowFor over sixty years, The Oxford Classical Dictionary has been the unrivalled one-volume reference in the field of classics. Now completely revised and updated to include the very latest research findings, developments, and publications, this highly acclaimed reference work will be the mostup-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available on all aspects of the classical era. In over 6,700 entries written by the very best of classical scholars from around the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law,science, art, archaeology, near eastern studies, and late antiquity. New entries supplement the existing material, including entries on topics such as Adrasteia, Latin anthologies, Jewish art, ancient religious beliefs, emotions, film, gender, kinship, and many more. Other specific developments include an added focus on two new areas: "anthropology" and "reception".All entries are written in an accessible style and all Latin and Greek words have been translated to ensure ease of use. Under the editorship of Simon Hornblower, Antony Spawforth, and Esther Eidinow, a huge range of contributors have revised and updated the text, which has made an alreadyoutstanding work even better.The Dictionary covers:1) politics, government, economy - from political figures to political systems, terms and practices, histories of major states and empires, economic theory, agriculture, artisans and industry, trade and markets2) religion and mythology - deities and mythological creatures, beliefs and rituals, sanctuaries and sacred buildings, astrology3) law and philosophy - from biographies of lawgivers and lawyers to legal terms and procedures, from major and minor philosophers to philosophical schools, terms, and concepts4) science and geography - scientists and specific theory and practice, doctors and medicine, climate and landscape, natural disasters, regions and islands, cities and settlements, communications5) languages, literature, art, and architecture - languages and dialects, writers and literary terms and genres, orators and rhetorical theory and practice, drama and performance, art, painters and sculptors, architects, buildings and materials6) archaeology and historical writing - amphorae and pottery, shipwrecks and cemeteries, historians, and Greek and Roman historiography7) military history - generals, arms and armour, famous battles, attitudes to warfare8) social history, sex, and gender - women and the family, kinship, peasants and slaves, attitudes to sexuality
Call Number: REF DE5 .O9 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-04
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Robert E. Bjork (Editor)The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is a major new reference resource for all key aspects of European history, society, religion, and culture from 500 to 1500. Since neighbouring areas of Asia and North Africa impinged on and helped shape the civilization of the West, relevant aspects ofthe Byzantine Empire, the Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples such as the Avars and the Mongols are included. It is designed both for medievalists, who need a detailed and reliable reference tool for their own research and teaching, and for non-specialists, who need an accessible guide to thestudy of the Middle Ages. All entries are written with both audiences in mind. Over 800 scholars, guided by an international advisory board of five and an international editorial board of 26, have written the over 5,000 entries, and these entries have been lavishly supplemented by more than 500illustrations and 50 maps. Each entry contains a brief bibliography.Distinguishing this research resource are its balanced coverage of both the whole geographical extent of the European Middle Ages and sixteen major topics centrally important to the study of the period. Ten members of the editorial board have ensured ample coverage of geographical regions: France,Germany and Austria, Spain and Portugal, Italy, Sicily, and Latin Greece, the Low Countries, England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales, Scandinavia and Iceland, and Central and Eastern Europe. In addition sixteen members of the board have ensured similar coverage of major international topics: art andarchitecture, archaeology, science, medicine, technology, law, ecclesiastical history, intellectual history, philosophy, social and economic history, Romance, Germanic, and Slavic languages and literatures, Islam, Judaica, medieval Latin, and music and liturgy. There are also separate andsubstantial entries on women and children in each of the geographical areas represented and in Jewish and Islamic society.
Call Number: REF D114 .O94 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-29
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt by Donald B. Redford (Editor)Featuring 600 original articles written by leading scholars, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt goes far beyond the records of archaeology to make available what we know about the full social, political, religious, cultural and artistic legacy of this 5,000 year civilization. The Encyclopedia offers the most complete picture available of ancient Egyptian civilization, from the predynastic era to its eclipse in the seventh century CE. Here is the Egyptian world in illuminating, accessible detail: art, architecture, religion, language, literature, trade, politics,everyday social life and the culture of the court. Of special interest is the coverage of themes and issues that are particularly controversial--such as the new theories of the origins of complex society in the Nile Valley, new discoveries about Greco-Roman Egypt, and new developments in literature,religion, linguistics and other fields, including the debates about Egypt's African legacy. Extensively illustrated with photographs, line drawings, and maps, the Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt is designed for the widest possible access, serving students, teachers, and scholars in fields ranging from Near East archaeology and classics to ancient art, architecture, history, language andreligion, as well as general readers fascinated by a world that remains--even today--incompletely mapped.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Edward Craig (Editor)The Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy is the most ambitious international philosophy project in many years. Edited by Edward Craig and assisted by thirty specialist subject editors, the REP consists of ten volumes of the world's most eminent philosophers writing for the needs of students and teachers of philosophy internationally. The REP is a project on an unparalleled scale: Over 2000 entries ranging from 500 to 15,000 words in length - thematic, biographical and national 10 volumes consisting of over 5 million words of text plus considerable bibliographic material A Chief Editor and thirty specialist Subject Editors from across the world Over 1200 authors from all over the world. The importance of the REP is not to be found just in the sheer size of the project but also in its breadth of subject matter. It covers: The core of most Anglo-American philosophy - the metaphysical, epistemological and logical questions The usual menu of ethics, political philosophy and the history of philosophy The philosophy of other cultures - from Chinese, Arabic and Jewish philosophy to the philosophy of Africa and Latin America The most impressive range of authors have been gathered together on this unique project: William Alston, Roderick Chisolm, Fred Dretske, Joel Feinberg, Sandra Harding, Larry Laudan, Martha Nussbaum, Richard Popkin, Richard Rorty, Alan Ryan, Gyatri Chakravorty Spivak, Stephen Stich, Patrick Suppes and Bernard Williams, to name just a few. Also available online: www.rep.routledge.com
Call Number: REF B51 .R68 1998 v.
Publication Date: 1998-05-26
Science and Its Times by Neil SchlagerCombining essays on people, theories, discoveries and concepts with overviews, primary documents and chronological elements, this reference offers a way to understand the impact of science on the course of human history and how science affects everyday life.
Call Number: REF Q175.46 .S35 2000
Publication Date: 2000-04-07
Voices of Ancient Egypt by Rosalie DavidSupporting the current trends toward document-based teaching, this book introduces the reader to the multifaceted world of ancient Egypt through revealing excerpts from 51 texts written by Egyptians themselves. * Offers a fresh yet accessible approach to the study of ancient Egypt by giving readers firsthand insights into Egyptians' own perceptions of their unique world * Illuminates the character and social history of the ancient Egyptians as well as many aspects of daily life and practice * Shows how the extensive timespan of ancient Egyptian civilization and its domination of the surrounding geographical areas exerted a profound influence that lasted through time * Demonstrates how significant aspects of ancient Egyptian culture have been transmitted to the modern world * Includes "Topics and Activities to Consider" to encourage discussion and allow readers to expand their knowledge
Call Number: REF DT61 .V65 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-28
Warfare in the Roman Republic by Lee L. BriceThis easy-to-use reference book covers the most important people, places, events, and technologies of Roman warfare during the republic (400-31 BCE), providing a wealth of reference material and invaluable primary source documents. * Connects the constant change of the Roman Army adapting to new enemies and demands to the ongoing political and social changes in Rome itself * Provides an easy-to-use, ready reference on Roman warfare during the Republic based on the most recent research * Includes primary source documents that provide valuable information and encourage readers to apply their critical thinking skills * Offers multiple topic finders that make it easy for readers to find the information they are looking for and follow connections within the material
Call Number: REF DG89 W38 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-21
Wars That Changed History by Spencer C. TuckerA thorough study of significant wars throughout history and their influence on world affairs-from the Egyptian Pharaoh Thutmore III's Campaigns during 479-459 BCE through the Iraq War of 2003-2011. * Features Illustrations, maps, and photographs to visually engage readers * Discusses the significance of major conflicts and their broad historical consequences * Offers the most recent interpretations as to the causes and effects of each war covered * Provides a list of books for additional reading to expand learning opportunities * Reveals the meaning of the term "tech-tac disjoint" and explains its relevance to to modern use of technology-enabled weaponry
Call Number: REF D25 .T83 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
Women in the Middle Ages by Katharina M. Wilson (Editor); Nadia Margolis (Editor)The experiences of women in the Middle Ages have been receiving growing amounts of attention, and we are only now beginning to appreciate the full extent of their contributions. Women significantly shaped medieval political, economic, and cultural life as rulers, religious leaders, wives, patrons, teachers, healers, merchants, warriors, and agricultural laborers. They also produced enduring works in historiography, literature, music, and the visual arts. Comprehensive in scope, meticulous in scholarship, and accessible in style to general readers and specialists alike, this encyclopedia offers full coverage of the myriad roles, experiences, and contributions of women in the medieval world. Written by leading scholars in a variety of fields, "Women in the Middle Ages" offers more than 300 alphabetically arranged entries that conclude with extensive bibliographies of both primary and secondary sources. Entries cover people and topics ranging from the third to the fifteenth centuries, and treat well-known figures, more recently discovered or re-evaluated figures, and much more. Medieval women in the principal stages of life, both mortal and spiritual, are also covered in entries on childhood, virginity, marriage, widowhood, penitentials, hagiography, and relics. This illustrated encyclopedia also includes a general bibliography, index, and guide to related topics.
Call Number: REF HQ1143 .W643 2004
Publication Date: 2004-12-30
World Mythology by Salem Press StaffMyths in the volume are organized by regions of the world and cultures, such as Oceania, South East Asia, and Meso-America. In addition, twelve maps listing ancient cultures and charts on mythological figures will provide a broad overview of major deities
Call Number: REF BL312 .C75 2013
Publication Date: 2013-12-01
The World of Ancient Rome by James W. ErmatingerThis study of Ancient Rome offers a fascinating glimpse of what Roman society was like-from fashion, to food, to politics and recreation-gathered from literary works, art, and archaeological remains. * Focuses on daily life rather than dates and wars, making for engaging content for all readers * Offers a bibliography of important works as well as online and print resources for further reading * Includes coverage of a breadth of topics ranging from performing arts to town planning and military uniforms to banquets * Features approximately 250 entries with topics arranged alphabetically * Connects to national standards for world history
Call Number: REF DG77 E77 2015
Publication Date: 2015-08-11
Librarians are available to help in several ways:
Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library
Call the Research Help Desk at 607-436-2722
E-mail a question to a librarian and receive a response within 48 hours
Worldcat is the name of a catalog searching system. It searches both items that Milne Library owns and doesn't own. To search for items using Worldcat, click on the databases tab on the library homepage and then click "W". Scroll down until you find Worldcat. Alternatively, you can click on the link below.
WorldCat legacy version using the FirstSearch interface. Comprehensive database of books, journals, and media owned by libraries world-wide. Requires signon from off-campus.
As part of your assignment, you are required to find scholarly journal articles on a topic.
The library has access to scholarly (or peer-reviewed) journals in print and electronic format.
Electronic articles can be searched through our databases. There are some general databases and some subject specific databases. To access the databases, click on the database tab on the library homepage. You can then browse through them alphabetically, or browse by discipline (i.e., history, anthropology, etc.).
Below you will find a list of databases that will be helpful for your current assignment. It is not an exhaustive list, but it is a good place to start.
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and the history of education. Indexing and abstracts for about 1800 journals; full-text for about 350 journals. Coverage is from 1955 to the present.
Iter, meaning a journey or a path in Latin, is a not-for-profit research organization focused on study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes bibliographies, indexes, and a few full-text journals.
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content in 37 key subject areas.
Full text of over 100 scholarly journals and books from university presses in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics. Can be used for course content: Includes books from many university presses and scholarly journals
Provides full text access to over 2200 Elsevier journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology. Provided by SUNY Oneonta and SUNYConnect. It also includes the Journal of Medieval History.
It is important to include appropriate citation in your paper. The library has a guide that can help you accurately cite your resources. You can locate it on the library homepage by clicking the "Citing Sources" link, or you can click on the link below.
"Citation Chasing" is a term used to describe finding resources and materials by looking at the citations in one book or article. There are different wants to discover if the library has access to that particular item.
If the item is a journal, you can search for the title of the journal by clicking on the Journals tab on the library homepage. Type in the title and then hit search. If the library has access to it, you will see a list of database(s) where you can view it. Check dates to find the particular volume and issue number you are looking for.
Type the title of the article into the Search Everything search box on the library homepage.
The library has a search feature called "Search Everything". This is the default search on the library's homepage. Using this tool can be difficult and overwhelming because it searches nearly everything the library has access to, including items in the physical collection as well as resources in our databases.
To effectively search with this feature, use the limiters on the left hand side to narrow down your search results. You can also use the advanced search feature.
If the library does not have access to a particular article, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan.
The ILLiad system enables current SUNY Oneonta students, faculty, and staff to obtain academic and intellectual materials from other libraries. Your ILLiad account will allow you to:
-- borrow items from other libraries
-- make online requests for periodical articles from other libraries