Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EDUC 106: Issues, Philosophy, and Foundations of Education: Home

Welcome

Welcome! Below you will find a collection of resources that will be helpful for your research assignment. It will also be helpful as a base for educational research that you will be conducting later on in your studies. 

How To Start

When you begin a research project, it is a good idea to take a moment to reflect on your prior knowledge of the topic area. How much do you already know about this topic? How confident are you in moving forward with this topic? 

In most cases, you will need to do a bit of research to get some general information on your topic. You can think of it like you are scaffolding a learning assignment for your students. To truly learn a new concept or skill, you need to create a solid base or foundation. 

A great way to create this base is by conducting research in encyclopedias. Encyclopedias are arranged alphabetically and contain a general overview of a term or subject matter. 

You can access print books in the Reference collection such as this one: 

 

You can also access encyclopedias online through our reference databases like this one: 

Finding Articles

As part of your assignment, you are required to find two peer-reviewed journal articles on a topic. 

The library has access to peer-reviewed journals in print and electronic format. 

Electronic articles can be searched through our databases. There are some general databases and some subject specific databases. To access the databases, click on the database tab on the library homepage. You can then browse through them alphabetically, or browse by discipline (i.e., elementary education, secondary education, etc.). 

Below you will find a list of databases that will be helpful for your current assignment. It is not an exhaustive list, but it is a good place to start. 

When you are searching the databases, make sure to limit to "peer-reviewed". 

Citation

It is important to include appropriate citation in your paper. The library has a guide that can help you accurately cite your resources. You can locate it on the library homepage by clicking the "Citing Sources" link, or you can click on the link below. 

Search Everything

The library has a search feature called "Search Everything". This is the default search on the library's homepage. Using this tool can be difficult and overwhelming because it searches nearly everything the library has access to, including items in the physical collection as well as resources in our databases. 

To effectively search with this feature, use the limiters on the left hand side to narrow down your search results. You can also use the advanced search feature. 

If the library does not have access to a particular article, you can request it through Interlibrary Loan. 

Peer-Reviewed

What does peer-reviewed mean in context to journal articles? Peer-review is a process that many scholarly journals undertake to evaluate the quality of the material being submitted. When an article is submitted to be published in a peer-reviewed journal, several impartial reviewers (who are experts in the subject matter) assess for accuracy, and the validity of the research methodology and procedure.