Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 100: Western Civilization I (Hendley): Home

Librarian: Mary Lynn Bensen

Research Help

Librarians are available to help you in several ways:

  • Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library, located on your left after you enter the first floor through the main entrance or through Jazzman's Cafe.
  • Call the Research Help Desk at Milne Library at 436-2722. If the librarian is busy, you can leave a message on voice mail.
  • E-mail a question to a Milne librarian and get a response within 48 hours.
  • Request a research consultation to meet individually with a librarian.  Request form is available on the library web site and at the Research Help Desk.

Finding Style Manuals

Chicago Manual of Style

 

Ref Z 253 U69 2010

Online under Databases

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses,

and Dissertations (Turabian)

Ref LB 2369 T8 2007

 

Finding Background Information

Reference books, specifically encyclopedias and handbooks, provide brief, reliable information about a topic.  They are excellent starting points for research when you need to find background information, important concepts, names and dates.  These sources often include lists of books and articles for further reading.  Background sources generally do not count toward the number of required sources because they provide overviews rather than substantial information.

Students can request free photocopy of pages in reference sources at the Research Help Desk.  Staff members will attempt to make copies at the time of the request, but students should generally expect to pick up photocopies one or two days after the request has been submitted.  A scanner is also available in the reference area for copying information.  Assistance is available at the Research Help Desk.

Background Sources Categorized by Geographical Areas, Time Periods, Subjects, and Source Types

Geographical Areas

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History Ref D 23 B45 2010
Encyclopedia of African History Ref DT 20 E 53 2005
Historical Dictionary of Byzantium Ref DF 552 R67 2012
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium Ref DF 521 O93 1991
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt Ref DT 58 O94 2001
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome Ref DE 5 O95 2010

Time Periods

Age of Wars of Religion Ref D 114 N66 2006
Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization Ref DE 5 C28 2006
Classical Tradition Ref DE 60 C55 2010
Dictionary of the Middle Ages Ref D 114 D5 1982
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Ref D 114 E53 1999
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance & the Reformation Ref CB 359 B47 2004
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Global Medieval Life & Culture Ref CB 351 G743 2009
Grove Encyclopedia of the Northern Renaissance Ref N 6370 G76 2009
Historical Dictionary of the Vikings Ref DL 65 H62 2003
Medieval France Ref DC 33.2 M44 1995
Oxford Classical Dictionary Ref DE 5 O9 2003
Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages Ref D 114 O94 2010
World Eras (series title)  

Ancient Egypt

Ref DT 61 A55 2002

Classical Greek Civilization

Ref DF 77 W67 2001

European Renaissance & Reformation

Ref CB 359 W67 2001

Medieval Europe

Ref D 102 M38 2002

Rise and Spread of Islam

Ref DS 36.85 W67 2002

Roman Republic & Empire

Ref DG W726 2001

Subjects

Animals in the Ancient World Ref QL 355 K58 2014
Cambridge World History of Food Ref TX 353 C255 2000
Cambridge World History of Human Disease Ref R 131 C233 1993
Crusades:  An Encyclopedia Ref D 155 C78 2005
Crusades of the Holy Land Ref D 155 C79 2015
Cultural History of Women  

Antiquity

Ref HQ 1121 C83 2013 v. 1

Middle Ages

Ref HQ 1121 C83 2013 v. 2

Renaissance

Ref HQ 1121 C83 2013 v. 3

Dictionary of Battles & Sieges Ref D 25 J33 2007
Dictionary of Scientific Biography Ref Q 141 D5 v. 15
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics Ref BH 456 E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity Ref BR 66.5 D5813 2014
Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientists:  The Greek Tradition Ref Q 124.95 E53 2008
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350-2000 Ref HN 373 E63 2008
Encyclopedia of Homosexuality Ref HQ 76.25 E53 1990
Encyclopedia of Islam & the Muslim World Ref BP 40 E524 2004

Encyclopedia of Motherhood

"History of Motherhood"

Ref HQ 759 E52 2010

Encyclopedia of Religion Ref BL 31 E46 2005
Encyclopedia of the Black Death Ref RC 172 B98 2012

Encyclopedia of World Dress & Fashion

  (Also included in Berg Fashion Library)

Ref GT 507 E54 2010

Milne Library Web Site 

(under Databases)

Fashion:  Critical & Primary Sources Ref GT 580 F374 2008
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing through World History Ref GT 507 G74 2008
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture Ref N 5610 G76 2007
Mythical Zoo Ref GR 705 S344 2001
Oxford Companion to Military History Ref D 25 A2 O94 2003
Religions of the World Ref BL 80.3 R45 2010

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy

 

Ref B 51 R68 1998

Milne Library Web Site

(online under Databases)

Science & Its Times Ref RC 172 B98 2012
Warfare in the Roman Republic Ref DG 89 Q38 2014
   

Atlases

Atlas of the Greek & Roman World in Antiquity

 

Ref G 1033 A84 1981

(atlas case)

New Atlas of World History Ref G 1030 H39 2011

Biography

Dictionary of Women Worldwide Ref CT 3202 D53 2007
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures Ref HQ 1170 E53 2003
Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World Ref HQ 1127 S25 2001
Women in the Middle Ages Ref HQ 1143 W643 2004

Chronology/Timeline

Chronology of World History:  Prehistory-AD 1491 Ref D 11 M39 1999 v. 1

Finding Books on Reserve

Course instructors often select library materials to be placed on reserve.  Personal resources can also be placed on reserve.  Materials on reserve have limited circulation periods, for example, two hours, two days, or seven days.  Professor Hendley’s reserve readings are good starting places because they provide information to further research on the questions assigned.

Click on Course Reserves under Student/Faculty Services on the library website.  Select words in Instructor Name in the drop-down menu under Search Type.  Enter the faculty member’s name, for example, Hendley.  Select appropriate titles and note availability.  Click on the title to see the full record for each item and note the call number and loan period after Location.  Take the call number and your SUNY Oneonta ID card to the Circulation/Loan Desk to check out the item.

Finding Print and Selected Electronic Books in Milne Library

Use the Classic Catalog link at the top of the library home page.  This is an index to the physical contents of Milne Library and to selected books, documents, and media available online.  For books in Milne, note the call number for the item and consult the information guide Library Floor Plans to determine the location of the item.  For electronic books, follow the link to the Electronic Book or Online Item.

Search Tips:

  • Use truncation to search for variations of a word, including plural forms

Example:  myth* finds myth, myths, mythology, mythological, etc.

  • Use quotation marks to search for a phrase

Example:  “middle ages”

A Words Anywhere search will bring up a list of items that might not all be on your topic.  For example, if you enter “music” in the search box, your results will include items with “music” anywhere in the record for the item, which could be in the title, author, publication information, contents notes, or subject headings.

In any list of results, the number of items owned by the library will be followed by the number of items in circulation, for example, (1 owned/0 out).  In this case, the book should be available in the library.  Click on the title to see more information about the item.  Click on terms after Subject for items that provide more substantial coverage of the topic.

Finding Print Books in Milne and Other Libraries using WorldCat

WorldCat is an online database listing materials in the U.S. libraries and selected libraries throughout the world.  Holdings are indicated for Milne Library, and the Stevens-German Library at Hartwick College.  You can search by author, title, subject, and keyword.  If Milne Library does not own an item, you can request items by following the Request via Interlibrary Loan link provided on the record for an item in WorldCatLocate WorldCat in the alphabetical list of databases.  You can also check out items at Hartwick College with your SUNY Oneonta ID card.

Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals

For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is the Renaissance Quarterly. An example of a popular magazine is People.

All of the following databases are listed on the web site in the alphabetical list under Databases.

Databases Covering Many Subject Including History

Gender Studies

History

Finding Primary Sources

When searching print and online access tools, use search terms such as SOURCES, CORRESPONDENCE, PERSONAL NARRATIVES, DIARIES, RECORDS AND CORRESPONDENCE, SERMONS, SPEECHES, and PAPERS.

Look for titles of primary sources in secondary sources and in lists included in bibliographies of secondary sources. Use text, class, and library bibliographies, as well as items on reserve for recommended titles or listings of primary sources. 

How They Lived Ref CB 69.2 C56 2016
Milestone Documents in World History v. 1 & 2 Ref D 5 M55 2009
Milestone Documents in World Religions v. 1 & 2 Ref BL 74 M 56 2011
Voices of Early Christianity Ref BR 167 V65 2013
Voices of Ancient Egypt Ref DT 61 V65 2015

Finding Copies of Periodical Articles

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on Full Text Finder.  If the full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link that connects to that database, in which the article can be found.  If the article does not appear, enter the article title in the search box to complete the search.

Locating the article in print or microfilm, if not available in electronic form:

Link to OneontaLocal, and then click on Is it here? Note available issues and location. Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room in the library sub-basement (SB floor).  Help is available by calling the number on the telephone in the Microfilm Room.

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

If the article is not available at Milne Library in any form, request the article through the link Request through Interlibrary Loan.  Registration on the library web site is necessary to submit requests.  The Interlibrary Loan link is listed under the Student/Faculty Services tab. 

Finding an Article in a Particular Journal Title

  • Use the Journals tab at the top of the library home page.
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Past and Present, in the search box and click on the magnifying glass icon. The title of the periodical, if available, will appear the top of the results list.  Click on the title of the periodical. 
  • If the title is available in library databases, Full Text Access will link to databases that include the full text of the title.  Check dates of coverage to determine if full text for the needed article is available.  Click on the Database title and search for the needed volume and issue number of the periodical OR enter the title of the article in the search box to obtain the full text.

 

  • If the title is available in print or microfilm, the link Print Journals in Milne Library will lead to information about the specific issues available in Milne Library.  Click on Is it here? Note specific library holdings, and locate the title in the library.  Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room in the library sub-basement (SB floor). 

Using Search Everything (EBSCO) Discover Service/EDS

The EBSCO Discovery Service points researchers to appropriate databases, but is not a substitute for searching these databasesEDS merely “scratches the surface” of selected library databases to produce a single list of results, including print books, electronic books, scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, research reports, documentary films, and much more. 

NOTE:  Because results include Open Source titles, not all materials are appropriate for college research assignments.

Click on the Advanced Search, and enter terms in the search box.  You can limit search results by unclicking boxes next to “apply related words” and “also search within the full text of the articles.”

Refining or Narrowing the Results:

The results from a search can be very large.  Use the limiters on the left side of the page to refine and narrow your results.  The most useful limiters are listed below:

Subject:

Click on Subject and then Show More to see a list of all subjects.  Subjects at the top represent the largest number of results.  Subjects at the bottom will give the fewest results.  The list can be alphabetized by clicking on Name.  You can select multiple subjects.  Update results.

Location:

Use to limit results to items owned by Milne Library.  Click on desired format(s). Update results.

Source:

Click on Sources and then on Show More for a selected list of databases in which results were found.  Select the most appropriate databases.  Update results.  Searching individual databases listed leads to additional results and is recommended for the most effective searching.

Use Databases tab on the library web site to link to alphabetical list of individual databases. Click on database name(s) and enter words in the search box(es).  Searching the individual databases improves search results because more refined searching can be done with appropriate subject terms.  

Date:

Use to limit results to particular dates.

 

 

 

Mary Lynn Bensen (MaryL.Bensen@oneonta.edu)
Milne Library, SUNY Oneonta
January 2017