Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PSYC 274: Introduction to Abnormal Psychology (Zians): Course Guide

Librarian: Michelle Hendley

Reference Books

Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders:  DSM-5 REF RC 455.2 .C4 D536 2013
Encyclopedia of abnormal psychology Available on-line through "Search Everything"
Encyclopedia of psychology REF BF 31 .E52 2000

Psychology Databases

Other Relevant Databases

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If there is no PDF or HTML full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on Full Text Finder. If the full text of the article is available in another database, there will usually be a link to that database where the article can be found by linking to the appropriate volume and issue number, or by searching for the article by its specific title. In some databases, the article will appear without additional searching.

If the article is not available, return to the home page of the library and click on Journals. Enter the journal title in the search box, and click on the search icon. Click on Full Text Access to see if an online or print copy of the article is available. Print Journals in Milne Library links to the Classic Catalog and provides information on items that are available in Milne Library. On the record for the journal title, click Is it here? The record will list the years and volumes of the journal held in Milne Library. The record will also indicate whether the issue is in print or microfilm.

Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room, (SB floor), two floors beneath the main floor of the library.

Requesting an article through Interlibrary Loan:

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed or through the link on the bottom of the homepage of the library website.  See a librarian for help. 

Finding an Article in a Specific Periodical Title

  • Use the Journals tab on the top of the library home page.
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, Journal of Consulting and Clinical Psychology, in the search box and click on Exact Match.
  • Look for the journal title in the results list.
  • Click on an appropriate database.
  • Link to the correct issue of the periodical (note the year, issue and volume number of the article).
  • If an electronic text is available, click on the link provided.  If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, click on the specific library holdings and locate the title in the library.  

Citing Sources

http://libguides.oneonta.edu/citing/apa

Guides and tutorials on American Psychological Association (APA) style. The call number for print APA style guide is REF BF 76.7 P83 2010.  It is located in the Reference collection on the first floor of the library.

 

 michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu

  December 8, 2016