Selected Political Science Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
| 21st Century Political Science: A Reference Handbook | REF JA 66 A21 2011 |
| Culture Wars in America | REF HM 1121 C85 2014 |
| Encyclopedia of the American Left | REF HX 86 E58 1998 |
| Encyclopedia of American Political History | REF E 183 E 48 2001 |
| Encyclopedia of Political Communication | REF JA 85 E64 2008 |
| Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections | REF JK 2261 S218 2006 |
| The Encyclopedia of Political Science | REF JA 61 E513 2011 |
| Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues and Platforms | REF E 176.1 R6 2004 |
| Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the United States | REF HD 1694 A5 E265 2011 |
|
Governing America: Major Decisions of Federal, State, and Local Governments from 1789 to the Present |
REF JK 468 P64 Q55 2010 |
| International Encyclopedia of Political Science | REF JA 61 I58 2011 |
| The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History | REF E 183 P85 2010 |
| Women in American Politics: History and Milestones | REF HQ 1236.5 U6 W43 2012 |
| The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science | REF JA 61 B43 1999 |
| A Dictionary of Modern Politics | REF JA 61 R63 2002 |
| The Palgrave Dictionary of Political Thought | REF JA 61 S37 2007 |
Selected Electronic Reference Sources
- CQ Guide to U.S. Elections (7th edition) This link opens in a new windowThe CQ Press Guide to U.S. Elections, Seventh Edition is a comprehensive, two-volume reference providing information on the U.S. electoral process, in-depth analysis on specific political eras and issues, and everything in between. Thoroughly revised and infused with new data, analysis, and discussion of issues relating to elections through 2015, the Guide will include chapters on: analysis of the campaigns for presidency, from the primaries through the general election; data on the candidates, winners/losers, and election returns; details on congressional and gubernatorial contests from the primaries through the general elections supplemented with vast historical data; coverage of campaign finance, as well as reapportionment and redistricting.
- CQ Congress and the Nation This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of Congressional action from 1945 to 2008. Includes tables, charts, and graphs.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) This link opens in a new windowA collection of full text electronic reference books covering many subject areas. Can be searched by keyword, source, subject, image caption, full text, and audience. Individual books can be combined for cross-title searching.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowCollection of full text reference sources including Congress and the Nation, Guide to U.S. Elections, Landmark Legislation, Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion, and Vital Statistics on American Politics.
Finding Books
EDS searches across the library's catalog and many of its databases in a single search. This is the default search box (Search Everything) on the library home page. Because the results are so broad, learn to refine your results by using the toggle boxes on the left of the results screen.
To narrow a search to book only, go to Location and check the appropriate boxes.
Search for books in the Milne Library Catalog.
Finding Scholarly Articles
Political Science Resources
- Political Science CompletePolitical Science Complete (PSC) provides full text for more than 520 journals, and indexing and abstracts for over 2,900 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals), many of which are unique to the product. The database also features over 340 full-text reference books and monographs, and over 36,000 full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
General Databases with Political Science Resources
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowProvides over 54,000,000 articles, most full-text, from about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 2000 free, full-text scientific and scholarly journals. Includes 179 political science journals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full-text of several scholarly journals including 152 political science titles and 38 public policy and administration titles. The objective of JSTOR is to provide all issues back to Volume 1, Issue 1 for all journals. (Due to copyright restrictions, the most recent 3-5 years are unavailable.)
- Military & Government CollectionCurrent news pertaining to all branches. Provides full-text for about 300 journals and other periodicals.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowProvides access to back files of over 550 complete full-image journals spanning 200 years in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
- Project MuseFull text of over 100 scholarly journals in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to over 2200 Elsevier journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, technology and political science.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)This full-text resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Content Includes: Full-text articles from 360 journals Full-text content dating as far back as 1972. High-quality indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed.
Other Resources
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition)Contains books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies documenting women’s reform activities and social movements from Colonial times to the present.
Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article
Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:
If there is no PDF or HTML full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on Full Text Finder. If the full text of the article is available in another database, there will usually be a link to that database where the article can be found by linking to the appropriate volume and issue number, or by searching for the article by its specific title. In some databases, the article will appear without additional searching.
If the article is not available, return to the home page of the library and click on Journals. Enter the journal title in the search box, and click on the search icon. Click on Full Text Access to see if an online or print copy of the article is available. Oneonta Local links to information about locally held items. On the record for the journal title, click Is it here? The record will list the years and volumes of the journal held in Milne Library. The record will also indicate whether the issue is in print or microfilm.
Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room, (SB floor), two floors beneath the main floor of the library.
Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:
If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed or through the link on the bottom of the homepage of the library website. See a librarian for help.
Finding Book Reviews
- Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new windowCurrent book reviews and citations to reviews collected from a variety of published sources.
- Book Review Digest Retro 1903-1982 This link opens in a new windowExcerpts from and citations to book reviews.
- Choice Reviews This link opens in a new windowSource for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.
The “Search Everything” feature of the Milne Library web site is also a good resource for locating book reviews.
Finding Quality Web Pages
To insure that you find the best and most authoritative information on the web, follow these suggestions:
1. Limit searches to .gov and .edu:
To do this add site: gov or site: edu to any web search.
2. Use only key words and place phrases inside " ":
"social classes"
television and "class structure"
3. Use the advanced search feature of search engines, such as Google Advanced Search where you can limit the domain to .edu or .gov, limit key words to appear to the title of the page and use phrases.
How to evaluate information located on the web
University of North Carolina University Library’s Evaluating Websites: Checklist
http://www2.lib.unc.edu/instruct/evaluate/websites.pdf
Virginia Tech University Libraries: Evaluating webpages for research
http://www.lib.vt.edu/instruct/evaluate/
Revised September 14, 2015