Print Reference Sources
| Consumer behavior 2015-2016 | REF HF 5415.33 U M55 2015 |
| Encyclopedia of global brands | REF HD 69 B7 E534 2013 |
| Encyclopedia of major marketing campaigns | REF HF 5837 E53 2000 |
|
*Encyclopedia of sports management and marketing (* Also available online through "Search Everything") |
REF GV 713 E63 2011 |
Sources of Scholarly Articles
Social Sciences Databases
- Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than 100 journals focused on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered include: advertising and public relations, literature and writing, and linguistics.
- Diversity Studies This link opens in a new windowA subset of Academic OneFile. This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. Includes more than 150 journals. Coverage is about from 1996 to the present.
- PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new windowLiterature in psychology and related disciplines from 1887 - present. Links to full text articles in other databases.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)This full-text resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals. Social Sciences Full Text includes full-text articles from hundreds of journals, covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. Content Includes: Full-text articles from 360 journals Full-text content dating as far back as 1972 High-quality indexing for more than 750 periodicals, over 510 of which are peer-reviewed.
- SocINDEX with Full TextSocINDEX, a sociology research database, provides abstracts for about 800 "core" journals dating back to 1895 as well as indexing for more than 600 "priority" coverage journals and 2500 "selective" coverage journals.
Business Databases
- Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive business resource which provides access to periodical and newspaper articles, information about domestic and international companies, investment reports, brands, industry and company rankings, corporate histories. Coverage includes public and private companies. A good source for company histories and chronologies. Combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text for scholarly business and management journals as well as financial data, case studies, industry reports, market reports, and company profiles. Journal coverage is from 1886 to the present.
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source This link opens in a new windowProvides insight on topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small businesses. Offers full text for more than 125 key periodicals, 135 reference books, numerous case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Seminar Series and Vator.TV.
General Databases with Business and Social Studies Resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowIndexes about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas from 1980 to the present. Over 38,000,000 articles are available, with some full-text.
- Project MuseFull text of over 100 scholarly journals in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to over 2200 Elsevier journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.
Databases with Popular Magazines and Newspapers
- CQ Researcher (1923-present) This link opens in a new windowCovers the most current and controversial issues of the day with summaries of the issues. Full text.
- Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing (with 60% full-text) to about 11,500 general interest magazines and newspapers. Over 94,000,000 articles are available.
- Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowContains full text general news and reference information, as well as legislative, legal, business, financial, and health sources. Includes the full text of major newspapers.
- MasterFILE PremierDesigned for public libraries. Full text for about 2000 general reference publications.
- Opposing Viewpoints in ContextContains about 2000 viewpoint articles, 1000 topic overviews, 700 court case overviews, and 30 full text periodicals and newspapers. The Research Guide provides tips on analyzing issues with opposing viewpoints, distinguishing fact from opinion, evaluating information sources, and recognizing deceptive arguments.
Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article
Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:
If there is no PDF or HTML full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on Full Text Finder. If the full text of the article is available in another database, there will usually be a link to that database where the article can be found by linking to the appropriate volume and issue number, or by searching for the article by its specific title. In some databases, the article will appear without additional searching.
If the article is not available, return to the home page of the library and click on Journals. Enter the journal title in the search box, and click on the search icon. Click on Full Text Access to see if an online or print copy of the article is available. Oneonta Local links to information about locally held items. On the record for the journal title, click Is it here? The record will list the years and volumes of the journal held in Milne Library. The record will also indicate whether the issue is in print or microfilm.
Print periodicals are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room, (SB floor), two floors beneath the main floor of the library.
Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:
If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed or through the link on the bottom of the homepage of the library website. See a librarian for help.
Selected Sources of Statistics and Polling Data
American Fact Finder
American Fact Finder provides access to data about the Untied States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American Fact Finder come from several censuses and surveys.
BLS(Bureau of Labor Statistics) Statistics on Spending and Time Use
http://www.bls.gov/bls/spending.htm
County and City Data Book
"This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books." From the University of Virginia. The print version is available in Milne Library Reference HA 202 .A36.
FEDSTATS
Links to statistics available from over 70 United States government agencies. Searchable and browse able.
The Harris Poll
"From sports to health, politics to the economy, the Harris Poll reflects Americans' opinions on a wide range of topics and are published by national, local, consumer, business and trade media outlets."
Nielsen Reports
http://www.nielsen.com/us/en/insights/reports.html
Reports on consumer behavior.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Use "Search Everything" or the Classic Catalog to search for this title. A link to the electronic resource is available in the record.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
Full Text of the latest version in Excel and PDF format. Previous versions available in PDF. Tables on topics such as population, vital statistics, elections, government, economics. Print version is in Milne Library Reference HA 202 .A45.
United States Census Bureau
Social, demographic, and economic information.
National Center for Health Statistics
A site dedicated to U.S. health and vital statistics.
Pew Internet and American Life Project
http://pewinternet.org/default.aspx
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions.
The Gallup Organization
http://www.gallup.com/poll/139880/election-polls-presidential-vote-groups.aspx
International polling data on a variety of topics.
michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu
February 11, 2016