Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pols 200: Approaches to Political Science (Wilkerson): Home

Librarian: Michelle Hendley

Selected Political Science Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

21st Century Political Science:  A Reference Handbook REF JA 66 A21 2011
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science REF JA 61 B43 1999
Culture Wars in America REF HM 1121 C85 2014A
Dictionary of Modern Politics REF JA 61 R63 2002
Encyclopedia of American Political History REF E 183 E48 2001
Encyclopedia of American Political Parties and Elections REF JK 2261 S218 2006
Encyclopedia of the American Left REF HX 86 E58 1998
Encyclopedia of Political Communication REF JA 85 E64 2008
The Encyclopedia of Political Science REF JA 61 E513 2011

*Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns

Slogans, Issues, and Platforms

REF E 176.1 R6 2004

 

Encyclopedia of Public Administration & Public Policy REF JK 9 E526 2004
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics Available online through "Search Everything"
Encyclopedia of the U.S. Presidency REF JK 517 E53 2013
Encyclopedia of the United States Congress REF JK 1021 D48 2007
Encyclopedia of Water Politics and Policy in the United States REF HD 1694 A5 E265 2011

Governing America:  Major Decisions of Federal,

State, and Local Governments from 1789 to the Present

REF JK 468 P64 Q55 2010

Guide to U.S. Foreign Policy REF E 183.7 C7 2012
Guide to Political Campaigns in America REF JK 2265 G84 2005G
International Encyclopedia of Political Science REF JA 61 I58 2011
The Palgrave Dictionary of Political Thought REF JA 61 S37 2007
The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History REF E 183 P85 2010
Social Issues in America REF HN 57 S624 2006
Women in American Politics:  History and Milestones REF HQ 1236.5 U6 W43 2012

*Located in the reference collection in the subbasement.

 

Selected Electronic Reference Sources

Finding Books

EDS searches across the library's catalog and many of its databases in a single search.  This is the default search box (Search Everything) on the library home page.  Because the results are so broad, learn to refine your results by using the toggle boxes on the left of the results screen.  To narrow a search to book only, go to Location and check the appropriate boxes.  

Classic Catalog

Search for books in the Milne Library Catalog.

Finding Scholarly Articles

Political Science Resources

General Databases with Political Science Resources

Other Resources

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

 

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form

If there is no PDF or HTML full text with the citation for an article in a database, click on Full Text Finder.  If the full text of the articles is available in another database, there will usually be a link to that database where the article can be found by linking to the appropriate volume and issue number, or by searching for the article by its specific title.  In some databases, the article will appear without additional searching.  

If the article is not available, return to the home page of the library and click on Journals.  Enter the journal title in the search box, and click on the search icon.  Click on Full Text Access to see if an online or print copy of the article is available.  Print Journals in Milne Library links to the Classic Catalog and provides information on items that are available in Milne Library.  On the record for the journal title, click Is it here?  The record will list the years and volumes of the journal held in Milne Library.  The record will also indicate whether the issue is in print or microfilm.

Print periods are located on compact shelving, and microfilm is available in metal cabinets in the Microfilm Room, both of which are in the Periodicals Room, (SB floor), two floors beneath the main floor of the library.

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library, you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed or through the link on the bottom of the homepage of the library website.  See a librarian for help.

 

Finding an Article in a Particular Periodical Title

  • Use the Journals tab on the top of the library home page.
  • Enter the title of the journal or magazine, for example, American journal of political science, in the search box and click on Exact Match.
  • Look for the journal title in the results list.
  • Click on an appropriate database.
  • Link to the correct issue of the periodical (note the year, issue and volume number of the article).
  • If an electronic text is available, click on the link provided.  If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microfilm, click on the specific library holdings and locate the title in the library.

Finding Book Reviews

Book Review Digest Current

Current book reviews and citations to reviews collected from a variety of published sources.

Book Review Digest Retro 1903-1982

Excerpts from and citations to book reviews.

Choice Reviews Online

Source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those is higher education.

The "Search Everything" feature of the Milne Library web site is also a good resource for locating book reviews.

Finding Quality Web Pages

To insure that you find the best and most authoritative information on the web, follow these suggestions:

1.  Limit searches to .gov and .edu:

To do this add site: gov or site: edu to any web search.

2.  Use only key words and place phrases inside " ":

"social classes"

television and "class structure"

3.  Use the advanced search feature of search engines, such as Google Advanced Search where you can limit the domain to .edu  or .gov, limit key words to appear to the title of the page and use phrases.

How to evaluate information located on the web

Virginia Tech University Libraries:  Evaluating webpages for research

http://www.lib.vt.edu/instruct/evaluate/

University of North Carolina University Library's Evaluating Websites:  Checklist

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mMKuIlvj0WQ

 

michelle.hendley@oneonta.edu

Revised September 21, 2016