Skip to main content

Copy of COMP 100: Composition (Denekamp): COMP 100: Composition

Research Help

Librarians are available to help you in several ways:

  • Visit the Research Help Desk in Milne Library, located on your left after you enter the first floor through the main entrance or through Jazzman's Cafe.
  • Call the Research Help Desk at Milne Library at 436-2722. If the librarian is busy, you can leave a message on voice mail.
  • E-mail a question to a Milne librarian & get a response within 48 hours.
  • Request a research consultation to meet individually with a librarian. 

Finding Books

Finding Periodical Articles - General

All of the following databases are linked from the library home page under Databases. Note that most of the database content is also found using the Ebsco Discovery Service (Search Everything) search.

Some databases are not directly indexed in "Search Everything" or are not complete.

Literary Biography & Criticism

All of the following databases are linked from the library home page under Databases.

Film Criticism

Finding a Copy of a Periodical Article

Locating the full text of the article in electronic form:

If a full text of the article is available in another database, there will be a link connecting you to that database, where you can locate the article in the appropriate volume, or search for the article by title or author.

If the article is unavailable electronically, but available in print or microfilm, click on Oneonta Local Collection for exact holdings. Periodicals are located on compact shelving or in microfilm drawers on the floor P.

Requesting an article on Interlibrary Loan:

If you find an article from a periodical that is not available at Milne Library in any form after you have linked to "Check Library Catalog", you can request the article through the link Request item on Interlibrary Loan on the record for the article needed (see computer screen that comes up after you click on Find It!). You need to be registered to submit ILL requests. See a librarian for help. You can also request articles through the Interlibrary Loan link on the library website.

Finding an Article from a Citation:

If you have the citation for a periodical article, click on the Journals tab on the library website and enter the title of the journal or magazine. The resulting list will indicate which database(s) include the periodical. Follow the databases, then either follow the links to the specific issue of the periodical, or enter the title article in a search box. If the library subscribes to the periodical in print or microform, the holdings will be indicated by linking to Oneonta Local Collection.

Plagiarism

When you use information from a book, article, or web site, you need to cite it properly.  Even ideas must be cited. When paraphrasing be sure to use your own language, but still include a citation.

Avoiding Plagiarism

Turnitin.com is often used at the College at Oneonta to detect plagiarism.