Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PHIL 206: Philosophy of Life & Death (Koeddermann): Websites

Prof. Achim Koeddermann

Selected Websites

The American Philosophical Association promotes the discipline and profession of Philosophy, both within the academic and public arena. The APA supports the professional development of philosophers at all levels and works to foster greater understanding and appreciation of the value of philosophical inquiry.

The American Philosophical Society is a scholarly organization that promotes useful knowledge in the sciences and humanities through excellence in scholarly research, professional meetings, publications and more. The APS is one of the oldest learned societies in the United States and has played an important role in American cultural and intellectual life for over 250 years.

Babylon is an automatic translator for words, texts, phrases and more. Search for literally millions of terms in Babylon’s database of over 1,600 dictionaries and glossaries from the most varied fields of information. All in more than 75 languages. 

EpistemeLinks although the site is no longer maintained, it provides a static page to selected links of outstanding resources for philosophy available on the web.

Open Directory Project: Philosophy

Philosophy Pages lists links to philosophy websites. Note that sub-pages are in German, but many links point to English language sites. 

Philosophy Research Base is a study guide that integrates text resources with online resources to aid in both academic and general interest in all philosophical genres and their related fields. 

Project Gutenberg is a volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of public domain books. The project tries to make these as free as possible, in long-lasting, open formats that can be used on almost any computer. As of March 2014, Project Gutenberg claimed over 45,000 items in its collection. 

The Society for Medieval & Renaissance Philosophy aims to foster research and teaching in the field of philosophy, to organize meetings and conferences, to publish a newsletter and monograph series, and to cooperate with other learned societies in projects of common interest.

Voice of the Shuttle (VoS) provides a structured and briefly annotated guide to online resources for humanities. VoS emphasizes both primary and secondary resources.