Skip to Main Content

HISE 3212: The French Revolution (Harder), Fall 2025 3212-01

Course guide for research sources for HISE 3212

Finding Print and Electronic Books in Milne Library

**Click on Advanced Search under Milne Search.

Select Library Catalog link at the top of the search screen.  This is an index to the collections of Milne Library, print, online, and media.

Any Field will search for keywords in fields of the item record, including author, title, subject, and contents.  Use drop-down menu to search for a specific field such as Author, Title, Subject.  Use drop-down menu under Material Type to choose Books.  Click on Search toward the bottom of the screen.

Search Tips

  • Use the asterisk to truncate and search for variations of a word, including plural forms

Example: politic* searches for politic(s), political(ly), politician(s)

  • Use the question mark to represent more than one letter in a word, especially for words that do not form their plural form by adding “s” or “es.”

Example:  wom?n searches for women and woman

  • Use quotation marks to search for a phrase rather than individual words

Example: “Second Estate”

**Sign in with your SUNY Oneonta username and password to get complete results and to request items from other SUNY libraries through Interlibrary Loan (Resource Sharing).

Limit your results to those Held by Milne Library or Available Online, if appropriate.  

For print books in Milne Library:

  • Note the call number for the book and its availability status.
  • Using the information guide Library Floor Plans, find the book on the shelf, and check it out with your ID card at the Circulation Desk.

For electronic books in Milne Library:         

  • Click on the title of the book.
  • Under View Online—Full text availability, link to any database listed and then to the full

text of the book.

**Virtual Browse (At the bottom of selected records for print books) gives information about books on the shelf near the selected book title.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)                                                                             Under Databases on library website

    Lists scholarly, peer-reviewed, open-access books freely available on the internet.

HathiTrust                                                                                                          Under Databases on library website

  Includes the full text of books (selected primary and secondary sources).

Project Gutenberg Ebook Collection                                                                           Under Databases on library website

  Includes the full text of books (selected primary and secondary sources).