HISE 4520: War and Society in Modern Britain (Hendley), Fall 2025 4520-01

• Check near secondary sources on library shelves for primary sources.
• Look for titles of primary sources in the texts of secondary sources and in bibliographies and/or notes in secondary sources. Use text, class, library bibliographies, and course reserves for recommended titles or listings of primary sources.
• When searching print and online access or research tools, use search terms such as SOURCES, CORRESPONDENCE, LETTERS, PERSONAL NARRATIVES, DIARIES, RECORDS AND CORRESPONDENCE, SERMONS, SPEECHES, PAPERS, DOCUMENTS.

Example:  “industrial revolution” Brit* sources

Selected Print and Electronic Titles

Archives Unbound                                                                                                    Under Databases on library website

  See collections within the Archives Unbound series., which includes The Papers of Neville  

  Chamberlain (1869-1940).

Archives Unbound:  British and European History                                                   Under Databases on library website   

  Collections of historic documents on British and European history.

 Archives Unbound:   Northern Ireland:  A Divide                                                           Under Databases on library website

  Community, 1921-1972, Cabinet Papers of the Stormont

  Administration

  Includes Cabinet papers that document decisions made by the Protestant-dominated local  

  administration.

 Gale Primary Sources                                                                                                          Under Databases on library website

   Includes primary source documents on many subjects.

How They Lived:  An Annotated Tour of Daily Life                                                         Ref CB 69.2 C56 2016

  Through History Primary Sources

Milestone Documents in World History v. 1 & 2                                                             Ref D5 M55 2009

Documentary History of England                                                                                      DA 26 D55 (on reserve)

Readings in English History                                                                                            DA 32 C54 (Circulating Coll.)

Source-Book of English History                                                                                 DA 32.5 L5 (Circulating Coll.)

Voices of Victorian England: Contemporary                                                                 Ref DA 550 V65 2014

  Accounts of Daily Life

Victorian Popular Culture                                                                                         Under Databases on library website

  Includes the full text of primary sources about popular entertainment in America and Europe

  from 1779 to 1930.  

JSTOR 19^th – Century British Pamphlets                                                                   Under Databases on library website

  Includes pamphlets on many subjects

Manchester Guardian and Manchester Guardian                                                        See Dr. Hendley’s Bibliographic &              Weekly                                                                                                                                Research Aids for Research Essay        Punch (1964-1992)                                                                                                               Periodicals Room, SB

The Times (London), Digital Archive, 1785—2024***                                                 Under Databases on library website  

The Times (London) 1985—present                                                                                 Under Databases on library website  

  in Nexus Uni (formerly Lexis-Nexis)