Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals
For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer-review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field prior to publication.
All of the following databases are listed on the web site alphabetically by title under the tab Databases. Databases are categorized under Subjects.
History
Bibliography of British and Irish History
- Covers the scholarly literature on British & Irish history.
Historical Abstracts
- Indexes international scholarly literature on world history between 1450 and the present, excluding the U.S. and Canada.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- Indexes scholarly sources in medieval & Renaissance history.
Gender Studies
-
Selected full text of publications that cover women's and gender issues.
Gender Studies Collection
- Complements coverage of GenderWatch.
Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History
-
Indexes popular magazines and scholarly journals across the disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
- Complements coverage of Academic OneFile.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
- Provides full text of scholarly journals across the disciplines. Includes high quality, peer-reviewed open access research journals globally.
JSTOR
- Provides access to the full text of journals in many subject areas but excludes coverage for the last 3-5 years.
Oxford Bibliographies: Medieval Studies
- Explores European & Mediterranean civilization from the 4th to the 15th centuries.
Periodicals Archive Online
- Includes full text of journals that span 200 years in the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse
- Provides full text of journal articles in the social sciences and humanities.