Suggested Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- African Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Search open access African-published scholarly journals.
- Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete (CMMC) offers full text and cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for journals covering communication, mass media, linguistics, rhetoric, language, logic, and other closely related fields.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Indexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law. Provides full-text for over 900 journals. Coverage is from 1888 to the present.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Features full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press with titles dating from 1990. Contains about 2 million articles from more than 300 publications with both national and regional coverage.
- Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Search this database for background information on topics related to race, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness. It also includes a collection of points of view essays offering solutions to issues related to race.
- Fuente Académica Plus This link opens in a new window
This full-text database offers Spanish- and Portuguese-language academic content for researchers studying a broad range of disciplines. The extensive collection of scholarly journals and quality titles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain are readily available in PDF format.
- Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Search periodical content to explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
- Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Search and discover balanced coverage of topics related to gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowOffers authoritative historical and current perspectives on the evolution of gender roles as they affect both men and women. Coverage is from 1970 to the present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Database provide full-text access to thousands of academic journals, e-books, and images across most subject areas.
Archives and Primary Sources
- American Indian Histories & Cultures This link opens in a new window
Explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
- American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020 This link opens in a new window
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.
- American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography This link opens in a new window
Ebook series includes written transcriptions of interviews with over 2000 former slaves from seventeen states, including those collected by the Federal Writers' Project. Many of the interviews occurred in the 1930s and 1940s.
- Archives of Latin American & Caribbean History, 16th-20th Century This link opens in a new window
Search and analyze the history of Latin America and the Caribbean from the sixteenth through twentieth century through primary source documents.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender.
- Archives Unbound: African American Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of African American Studies.
- Archives Unbound: African Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of African Studies.
- Archives Unbound: Gender, Sexuality & Women's Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies.
- Archives Unbound: Latin American & Caribbean Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of Latin America and the Caribbean.
- Defining Gender (1450-1910) This link opens in a new windowDefining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
- French Colonialism in Africa: From Algeria to Madagascar, 1910-1930 This link opens in a new window
Search a collection of correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the French colonial government and the activities of the native peoples.
- German Colonies to League of Nations Mandates in Africa 1910-1929 This link opens in a new window
Search collection of correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the German colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.
- Italian Colonies in North Africa & Aggression in East Africa, 1930-1939 This link opens in a new window
Search collection of correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Italian colonial governments and later the mandate authorities, and the activities of the native peoples.
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Provides over 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry representing Chicano culture and the various ethnicities of Latin American writers working in the United States, together with over 450 plays.
- Liberia & the U.S.: Nation-Building in Africa, 1918-1935 This link opens in a new window
Search archive of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by American diplomats, as well as records of American citizens and companies with relations to Liberia. It carries the story from the end of First World War into the interwar period.
- Political & Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929 This link opens in a new window
Search collection of correspondence, studies and reports, cables, maps, and other kinds of documents related to U.S. consular activities. U.S. Consulates were listening posts reporting on the activities of the Portuguese colonial government and the activities of the native peoples.
- Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Digital resource includes the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Race Relations Department at Fisk University from 1943-1970, including Charles S. Johnson and Thurgood Marshall, that document three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights,