Reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, chronologies, atlases) are valuable sources of information.
Students can request free photocopy of pages in print reference sources at the Research Help Desk. Staff members will attempt to make copies at the time of the request, but students should generally expect to pick up photocopies one or two days after the request has been submitted. A scanner is also available in the reference area on the first floor for copying information. Assistance is available at the Reference Desk.
Cambridge Histories Online Under Databases on the library website
Complete text of over 350 scholarly texts in the Cambridge History Series. Each title is also listed individually in the library's catalog.
History
Dictionary of Women Worldwide Ref CT 3202 D53 2007 SB
Chronology of World History Ref D 11 M39 1999
British History
Oxford Companion to British History Ref DA 34 O93 1997
Oxford Illustrated History of the British Army Ref DA 50 O94 1994
Oxford Companion to Black British History Ref DA 125 N4 O94 2007
Chinese History
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China Ref DS 705 C35 1991
East and Southeast Asia Ref DS 502 H531
The Encyclopedia of the Chinese Overseas Ref DS 732 E53 1999
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China Ref DS 735 A2 B47 2009
Historical Dictionary of Revolutionary China, 1839-1976 Ref DS 740.2 H57 1992 SB
Historical Dictionary of the People’s Republic of China Ref DS 777.55 S835 2016 SB
China Facts & Figures Annual Ref DS 779.15 C48 SB
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture Ref DS 779.23 E53 2005