HIST 4690: Research Seminar (Unangst) Fall 2024 4690-01

• Check for primary sources near secondary sources on library shelves.
• Look for titles of primary sources in the texts of secondary sources and in bibliographies and/or notes in secondary sources. Use text, class, and library bibliographies, and course reserves for recommended titles or listings of primary sources.
• When searching print and online access tools, use search terms such as SOURCES, CORRESPONDENCE, PERSONAL NARRATIVES, DIARIES, RECORDS AND CORRESPONDENCE, SERMONS, SPEECHES, PAPERS, ETC.
• Search for primary sources in select database titles.  Many databases contain the full text of primary sources.  Other databases only cite primary sources.
• Click on the link to Databases on the library website. 
• Drop down the menu under Types and choose Primary Sources. 
• Click on Search.  
• Choose databases with contents related to your topic.The descriptions under each database title will provide information on the database contents to help you make appropriate choices for your topic. Note that some databases are subject-specific, for example, Archives Unbound:  African American Studies.  Other databases cover many subjects, for example, JSTOR.

Selected Databases Listed under Primary Sources

American Antiquarian Society Collections Series 1

American Antiquarian Society Collections Series 2

American Antiquarian Society Collections Series 3

American Antiquarian Society Collections Series 4

American Antiquarian Society Collections Series 5

            Indexes full text of important articles about life in America.

Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History

Includes historical materials from 33 archival collections documenting issues and events from the 16th to the 20^th century.

Archives Unbound (series title)

            Primary source documents with a topical focus in each database.

                          African American Studies

                        British & European History

                        Business & Economic History

                        Cultural Studies

                        International Relations

Decolonization:  The Politics & Independence in Former Colonial & Commonwealth Territories

            Includes political ephemera across the world in the 20^th century.

***Note:  There are databases other than those listed under Primary Sources that contain primary source documents.  Below are titles of databases that are not included under Primary Sources. 

 Additional Databases Including Primary Sources from the A-Z List

The following databases are listed alphabetically by title under Databases.

Black Freedom Struggle in U.S.

Selected primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

            Includes large set of images, texts, videos, and sound.

HathiTrust Digital Library

            Digital collections from across the disciplines.

History Commons (formerly Accessible Archives)

            Quantities of primary source materials from 18^th- and 19^th-century America.

JSTOR (includes a primary source collection)                     

             Includes primary and secondary sources across the disciplines.                              

New York Times Digital                                                                     

            Full text of major U.S. newspaper. Link to activate: https://oneonta.libanswers.com/faq/400088

NYS Historic Newspapers

             Includes a wide range of newspapers reflecting New York's history.

Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982

             Indexes more than 550 leading magazines from across the century.

The Times Digital Archive

             Includes full text of over 200 years of The Times (London). 

Databases that include largely secondary sources can also cite primary sources.  Add to your search topic terms such as SOURCES, CORRESPONDENCE, PERSONAL NARRATIVES, DIARIES, RECORDS AND CORRESPONDENCE, SERMONS, SPEECHES, PAPERS, ETC.

Databases Referencing Selected Primary Sources

Academic Search Complete

Provides selected full text for scholarly journals and popular magazines across disciplines.

America:  History & Life

            Covers history of the U.S. & Canada from prehistory to the present.

Bibliography of British and Irish History      

Covers the scholarly literature in British and Irish history.

Historical Abstracts

Covers history of the world (excluding U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. Counterpart to America: History and Life.

JSTOR

Provides access to the full text of journals in many subject areas in addition to primary sources.  There is no full-text coverage for the last 3-5 years, although citations will be given for articles published in this period.