Spanish Language Databases
- Fuente Académica Plus This link opens in a new window
This full-text database offers Spanish- and Portuguese-language academic content for researchers studying a broad range of disciplines. The extensive collection of scholarly journals and quality titles from Latin America, Portugal and Spain are readily available in PDF format.
- Gale OneFile: Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Search across full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines from and about Latin America.
Scholarly Articles about the Book of Unknown Americans
- Reading Immigration with The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina HenríquezThis Teaching Note describes using The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henriquez to spark critical inquiry about immigration in developmental English and composition courses at a New York City community college.
- Enriching preservice teachers' translanguaging stance and practices toward emergent bilingual learners through virtual professional developmentUnderstanding and affirming the assets of emerging bilingual learners (EBLs) and resources are often not part of preservice teacher (PST) preparation, particularly for preservice secondary teachers (Newman et al., 2010). The authors of this article designed two Grand Seminars to support PSTs to begin to develop a translanguaging mindset and to help them to apply what they have acquired to content language teaching through reading and reflection on The Book of Unknown Americans. The purpose of the seminars was to prepare PSTs with equity‐ and asset‐ based mindsets and practices to support EBLs, such as translanguaging. This study focuses on how the PSTs began to take up translanguaging as a mindset, or stance, yet required more time and development to engage in translanguaging as a pedagogy. One research question guided the design, presentation, and analysis of the data: In what ways do PSTs manifest a translanguaging stance? Implications for TESOL and all educators are provided to support PST understanding of EBL demography at their practicum placements and its connection to pedagogy.
Databases
- Archives Unbound: Latin American & Caribbean Studies This link opens in a new window
Search digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study of Latin America and the Caribbean.
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction
Provides over 100,000 pages of fiction and poetry representing Chicano culture and the various ethnicities of Latin American writers working in the United States, together with over 450 plays.