HIST 4690: Research Seminar Cossacks & Cowboys: Russian Frontier History in a Comparative Perspective (Malikov) Fall 2023, 4690-01

When searching print and online access tools, use search terms such as source*, correspondence, personal narrative*, diar*, record*, sermon*, speech*, and paper*, treat*

Look for titles of primary sources in secondary sources and in lists included in bibliographies of secondary sources. Use text, class, and library bibliographies, for recommended titles or listings of primary sources.  Browse the library shelves where secondary sources are located.   Many primary and secondary sources are shelved together.

Books

The American Indian and the United States:  A Documentary                                        Ref E 93 W27

  History

Annals of America                                                                                                                   Ref E 173 A793

Milestone Documents in World History (4 vols.)                                                                Ref D 5 M55 2009

Native American Periodicals and Newspapers 1828—1982                                            Ref E 77 D36 1984  SB

Voice of the Old Frontier                                                                                                         Ref Z 1249 F9 V3  SB

Periodicals

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodical                                                           Under Databases on library website

  Collection                                                                                                                                 Link to individual series numbers

              Series I, II, III, IV, and V

NY Times 1851—present                                                                                                                      Under Databases on library website

Primary Sources in Electronic Collections/Databases

American Historical Periodicals                                                                                             Under Databases on library website

American Indian Histories and Cultures                                                                               Under Databases on library website

Archives Unbound                                                                                                                    Under Databases on library website

American Studies                                                                    

Cultural Studies                                                                      

Native American Studies                    

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)                                                                               dp.la

Makes available materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions.  Includes text, images, video, and sound.         

Everyday Life & Women in America, c 1800—1920                                                           Under Databases on library website

            Selected Websites

Meeting of Frontiers                                                                                          https://www.loc.gov/collections/meeting-of-frontiers

“Resources devoted to the theme of the exploration and settlement of the American West, the parallel exploration and settlement of Siberia and the Russian Far East, and the meeting of the Russian-American frontier in Alaska and the Pacific Northwest.”

DocsTeach                                                                                                             https://www.docsteach.org/topics/american-indians

Resources related to Native American communities reflecting their interaction with the U.S. Government from the 18^th to the 21^st century.