Books in the Library
Slavery and Public History by Call Number: E441 .S625 2006
The 1619 Project by Call Number: E441 .A15 2021
Library Resources
- American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography This link opens in a new window
Ebook series includes written transcriptions of interviews with over 2000 former slaves from seventeen states, including those collected by the Federal Writers' Project. Many of the interviews occurred in the 1930s and 1940s.
- Black Freedom Struggle in US This link opens in a new windowThis website focuses on Black Freedom and features select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. By centering on the experiences and perspectives of African Americans, this collection attempts the study of Black history with a deeper understanding of the humanity of people who have pursued the quest for freedom, and the significance of movements like Black Lives Matter.
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Comprehensive legal research database on slavery in the U.S. and the English-speaking world. It includes colonial and state statutes, federal laws, and court cases—some extending into the 20th century. Ideal for students of history, law, and social justice, it explores slavery’s legal framework and lasting impact.
Online Resources
- The Inclusive Historian's HandbookThis dynamic reference source supports inclusive and equity-focused historical work in public settings by sharing a knowledge base that invites more people to engage in history projects. This handbook provides concrete examples of how to make history work more relevant. It centers on equity, inclusivity, diversity, and public service while offering accessible windows into the many ways public historians work.
- National Museum of African American History & CultureThe National Museum of African American History and Culture is the only national museum devoted exclusively to the documentation of African American life, history, and culture.
- Slavery and RemembranceA collaboration of UNESCO’s Slave Route Project, The Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and dozens of sites and museums across the globe, Slavery and Remembrance aims to broaden our understandings of a shared past shaped by slavery and slave trade, the ways in which we collectively remember and forget, and the power of legacies to forge our present and future.
Library of Congress
- Born in SlaveryBorn in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.
- Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African DiasporaThis website is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public - in brief, anyone interested in the experiences of Africans who were enslaved and transported to the Americas and the lives of their descendants in the slave societies of the New World.
- Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their StoriesThe recordings of former slaves in Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine states.