When searching print and online access tools, use search terms such as SOURCES, CORRESPONDENCE, PERSONAL NARRATIVES, DIARIES, RECORDS AND CORRESPONDENCE, SERMONS, SPEECHES, PAPERS.
Look for titles of primary sources in secondary sources and in lists included in bibliographies of secondary sources. Use text, class, and library bibliographies for recommended titles or listings of primary sources.
Accessible Archives
See America & World War parts I, II, and III. Primary sources including books, newspapers, and other periodicals.
Archival Films and Newsreels
Includes archival & newsreel films. See Pre-World War 1 (1888-1913) & World War 1 (1914-1918).
Everyday Life and Women in America c1800-1920
Primary sources documentary social, cultural, and popular history.
The Nation Archive Premium Edition
Full text of a public opinion periodicals.
JSTOR
Limit to Documents in results list.
New York Times 1851-current
Full-text coverage of major national newspapers.
Times Digital Archive, 1785-Onwards
Database with full text of The Times (London).
Websites
Bodleian Libraries WWI Primary Resource Guide.
Florida Atlantic University Welcome to the World War I Primary source Guide
Internet History Sourcebook Modern History World War I
Library of Congress
Extensive collection of primary sources, including photographs and manuscripts. See also Primary Source Set: World War I.
Oxford University Origins of the War – WWI Primary Resource Guide.
National Archives World War I Centennial
See also World War I DocsTeach
New York Public Library
Extensive collections of primary sources, including manuscripts and photographs.
University of California San Diego World War I
Guide to online primary sources.
Google Search
Search for primary sources, World War I – subtopics, e.g., individual countries or source types, e.g., personal narratives,letters, etc.