For academic research, it is important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is the Renaissance Quarterly. An example of a popular magazine is People.
**To see a list of databases for each academic subject, link to Browse by Discipline under the Databases tab.
Databases Covering History
America: History Life
Indexes scholarship on the U.S. and Canada.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes scholarly literature about the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada)
from 1450 to the present.
Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History
Each of the following databases indexes articles from periodicals in various subject areas.
Academic OneFile
Indexes scholarly journals across most academic subject areas.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for selected scholarly journals and popular magazines across the disciplines.
Bibliography of British and Irish History
Includes citations to books and articles about the British Isles, the British Empire and Commonwealth.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Provides free access to full text of scholarly journals across the disciplines.
Humanities Source
Provides selected full text for journals in the humanities, including history.
JSTOR
Provides access to the full text of journals in many subject areas. There is no full-text coverage for the last 3-5 years.
Periodicals Archive Online
Includes full text of journals that span 200 years in the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse
Provides full text of journal articles in the social sciences and humanities.
Databases Covering Gender Studies
Gender Watch
Provides selected full text of journals, newsletters, and research reports on studies of women and gender.
Gender Studies Collection (Gale)
Includes full text of popular & scholarly sources in the area of gender studies.