Reference books (encyclopedias, handbooks, chronologies) in print and online form are valuable sources of
information. Free photocopying of entries in print reference books is available at the Reference Desk.
Reference sources generally include:
| Africa | Ref DT 1 D6 |
| Africa: An Encyclopedia of Culture and Society | Ref DT 14 A3415 2016 |
| Encyclopedia of African History | Ref DT 20 B53 2005 |
| Encyclopedia of African History | Ref DT 20 E53 2005 |
| Encyclopedia of African History and Culture | Ref DT 3 P27 |
| Encyclopedia of 20th-Century African History | Ref DT 29 E53 2003 |
| New Encyclopedia of Africa | Ref DT 2 N48 2008 |
| Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought | Ref DT 14 I74 2010 |
Online Reference Databases
Cambridge Histories Online Under Databases on library website
This database includes the complete text of over 350 scholarly titles in the Cambridge History Series. Each title is also listed individually in the library’s online catalog.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Under Databases on library website
A collection of full-text reference books covering many subjects, including science, math, and engineering.
Britannica Academic Under Databases on library website
Standard reference source for information across the disciplines. Includes links to additional material in periodical articles and books, including primary sources.
Sage Knowledge Online Under Databases on library website
Selected full text of reference sources across the disciplines.
Print reference books on African history can be found in Ref DT on Milne Library’s 1st floor and in the library’s sub-basement (SB).