For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is Psychological Science. An example of a popular magazine is Psychology Today.
To locate database titles, click on Databases on the library website. To find lists of database titles for specific academic subjects, click on Subjects after clicking on Databases on the library website.
Databases Covering Many Subjects
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for selected scholarly journals and popular magazines across the disciplines.
Project Muse
Provides full text of selected journal articles in the social sciences and humanities.
Databases Covering Specific Subjects
Agricola
Covers food and human nutrition, environmental science, and agriculture.
Business Source Complete
Includes coverage of scholarly business and management journals.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Indexes journals in communication, mass media, language, and related fields. Selective full text is
available.
Education Source
Covers all aspects of education, including curriculum, administration, policy, funding, and social issues.
Environment Complete
Indexing for over 2200 journals in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, geography, pollution and environmental law.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes scholarly research in literature, linguistics, and folklore.
PsycINFO
Cites books and articles on all aspects of psychology.
SocINDEX
Indexes the scholarly literature in sociology.
Databases Covering Gender Studies
Gender Watch
Provides selected full text of journals, newsletters and research reports on studies of women and gender.
Gender Studies Collection (Gale)
Includes full text of popular and scholarly sources in the area of gender studies.