Peer Review
Peer Review is a process that articles may undergo to be published in a journal. It can be a lengthy process, taking months or years for an article to go from submission to publication.
Once an article is submitted, an editor reviews it to determine if it fits in the topic scope with the journal. If it does, the editor passes it on to a team of reviewers. These reviewers are experts in the field of study the article is based in. They will read the article and determine if it meets a selection of criteria, including but not limited to authority, relevancy, etc. Many times reviewers make comments on the article and expect revisions to be made before the article is published. This revision process could occur multiple times before the reviewers feel the article is of a high enough quality to publish.
To take a look at the peer review process first hand, visit The Royal Society. Authors and reviewers can opt for an open review process. This process allows the readers to look at the review history of an article and see comments made.
Locating Online Resources - Databases
Electronic articles can be searched through our databases. There are some general databases and some subject specific databases. To access the databases, click on the database tab on the library homepage. You can then browse through them alphabetically, or browse by discipline (i.e., gender studies, history, etc.).
Below you will find a list of databases that will be helpful for your current assignment. It is not an exhaustive list, but it is a good place to start.
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowProvides over 54,000,000 articles, most full-text, from about 13,000 scholarly journals across most academic subject areas. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowFull text for about 8,500 periodicals including over 7,300 peer-reviewed journals across most areas of academic study as well as indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 magazines and journals. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexing for over 750 journals in the fields of nursing and allied health sciences with coverage back to 1937. Some full text articles are included.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text for over 1700 journals, 550 books, and selected education-related conference papers. Covers elementary education, special education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, and teaching methods. Encompasses all content from Education Research Complete.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts for over 1000 education publications. Offers over 300,000 full-text documents. Coverage is from about 1966 to the present.
- Gale General OneFile This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing (with 60% full-text) to about 11,500 general interest magazines and newspapers. About 100,000,000 articles are available. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.
- Google ScholarIncludes most peer-reviewed online journals from the largest scholarly publishers as well as scholarly books and non-peer reviewed journals. Links to full-text due to Milne Library subscriptions. A useful feature is the ability to see who cited an article.
- MasterFILE PremierDesigned for public libraries. Full text for about 1700 general interest publications. Coverage is from 1975 for some titles.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in PrintProvides full text information on standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, and psychology.
- Project MuseFull text of over 100 scholarly journals and books from university presses in fields including literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, political science, gender studies, and economics.
Can be used for course content: Includes books from many university presses and scholarly journals - PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowProvides access to over 100,000 searchable full text articles from 48 journals published by the American Psychological Association from 1894 to the present.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionA comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
- PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new windowLiterature in psychology and related disciplines from 1887 - present. Links to full text articles in other databases.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to journals in the fields of science, psychology, medicine, and technology.
