Finding Articles in Scholarly Journals
For academic research, it is often important to use peer-reviewed (or refereed) journals rather than popular magazines. Peer review is the process by which a journal article is evaluated by experts in the field. An example of a peer-reviewed journal is the Past and Present. An example of a popular magazine is People.
All of the following databases are listed on the web site in the alphabetical list under Databases.
History
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextIndexes bibliographic literature covering world history, excluding the U. S. and Canada.
Databases Covering Many Subjects, Including History
- Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowIndexes scholarly journals and popular magazines covering most academic subject areas with some full text available.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowProvides selected full text for scholarly journals and popular magazines across the disciplines.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowFeatures full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the full text of journals in many subject areas. There is no coverage for the last 3-5 years.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text of journals that span 200 years in the humanities and social sciences.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of journal articles in the social sciences and humanities.
Gender Studies
- Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new windowIncludes selected full text of popular and scholarly sources in the area of gender studies.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowProvides selected full text of journals, newsletters, and research reports on studies of women and gender.